Fruits and Veggies Monday Week #53 | Chocolate Carmel Apple Tart

IMG_8611 (2).JPG

Good day my Fruits and Veggies friends! Well, I just returned from my visit with my daughter and her family. I enjoyed a full week of my baby grandson! What a sweet blessing! A happy snuggly baby, his smiles were enough to melt my heart.


While I was there I had enough time to make some healthy treats to leave behind! My daughter has gluten, dairy and sugar intolerance, making treats for her is always fun. On top of that, their oven was on the blink so nothing would be baked for the week!


Raw was the word for our treats for the week and I loved it!


Before we get started I want to give a big shout of thanks to @lenasveganliving for hosting this wonderful weekly gathering! It's Week 53 of the Fruits and Veggies Monday Contest! Wow, over 1 year and still going strong! She is such an inspiration to all of us. Her recipes and knowledge continue to amaze me each week! I have learned so much and found many new recipes here, so thankful for this community! Sending a big boost of encouragement to @pusteblume, a tough challenge to judge each with so many talented foodies! Her creative and delicious entries are always wonderful. I know she'll do an amazing job!


todaysjourney.jpg

Chocolate Carmel Apple Tart

ingredients

  • 1/2 cup raw Almonds (soaked overnight, drained and rinsed)
  • 1/2 cup Walnuts
  • 3/4 cup Organic Raisins
  • 1/4 cup Medjool Dates (pitted)
  • 5 Organic Apples (peeled and sliced)
  • 6 tablespoons Agave or Maple Syrup
  • 4 tablespoons fresh Lemon Juice
  • 1 teaspoon Cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon Allspice
  • 4 tablespoons Binnies Chocolate Coconut Butter
  • 2 tablespoons Olive Oil

A couple of hours before making the tart I mixed 4 tablespoons Agave, Lemon Juice, Cinnamon and Allspice in a bowl. Toss the sliced apples in this mixture and lay on dehydrator trays to dehydrate. Dehydrate 2 hours on fruit setting. Note: you can do this in the oven on the lowest oven setting. Watch carefully so to prevent over drying


IMG_8549 (2).JPG


While I waited for the apples, I prepared the tart base first by processing the Almonds, Walnuts and ½ cup Raisins and dates in a food processor until fine. Press into a tart pan (I had to improvise with a parchment lined baking dish!)


IMG_8547 (2).JPG


Time to remove the apple slices from the dehydrator! We are not trying to dehydrate the fruit, just enhance the flavors! This really makes the apples so full of flavor!! As you see, I had help, lol. Perhaps I’ll have a little helper in the future!


IMG_8556 (2).JPG


Place the apple tarts on the tart base. Then blend Binnies Coconut butter, 2 tablespoons Agave or Maple Syrup, Olive Oil. Pour the sauce over the apples. Refrigerate for a couple of hours.


IMG_8559 (2).JPG


Now it’s time to enjoy! Binnies Coconut Butter adds such a wonderful balance to the tart apples. Chocolate and Cinnamon, I think you’ll love it!


IMG_8581 (2).JPG

Bon Appetit!

IMG_8598 (2).JPG

Thanks for stopping by! Thanks again @lensasveganliving for another great week of Fruits and Veggies Monday!

And as always, blessings to all!

loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

Sort:  

A bit off topic, but do you dry fruits in that dehydrator? I would love to learn how to do that...

Oh my goodnes, yes! In fact I am dehydrating blueberries right now! LOVE drying fruit, grapes = raisins...and once you make those you'll be sold! Apple chips, bananas, pineapple....fruit roll-ups....the sky is the limit. You can make yogurt on it as well. Definitely worth the investment!

I'm sold! Do you have any tips for choosing a dehydrator? Things to look for, brands or models to recommend?

Oh my, you can spend a lot or minimal. I have owned several. If you are a "casual" dehydrator then you don't have to spend big $$ Since the kids have grown and I don't have a garden I purchased a Nesco and it works very well. I use it often, it's easy to clean and cost about $65 If you are dehydrating daily then I would look at an Excalibur. $175-$350 Both are highly rated. The high end units will have timers which you can set and perhaps more trays. I would start small and if you use it like crazy you can buy up! You can make sun dried tomatoes, dry herbs, make chips, crackers, yogurt.....a lot to do! Good luck my friend! Let me know if I can

Thanks for the information! Easy to clean sounds like a good start! I will start researching it.
I had a colleague who brought in some self dried fruit and it was so much better than the store bought stuff!

I am not big on fruits and veggies but I will throw you a bone in the form of 100% upVote for making a quality post about something most people will enjoy.

lol, well thanks so much @sultnpapper! I'll keep trying and perhaps you'll like something I share! I appreciate the support, you are too kind! :)

Don't worry about trying to find something for me, I am an odd duck when it comes to what I eat. Meat and potatoes and bread and butter is pretty much it for me.
But I enjoy reading well done posts and good formatting so I support those even when the subject might not be my cup of tea.

Oh my goodness, that little angel is already helping his grandma. His cute little hand in is taking over the attention away from your delicious dessert my Dear, lol. Well it is a perfect combination of sweetness. One to eat another to kiss. I am so happy for you knowing that you had such a lovely time with your family and your baby grandson 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you my friend. What fun it was! I still smile thinking about his sweet smile. Was a blessing, singing and playing with the little guy. between the chubby cheeks and arms it was too much! Kisses galore. My daughter and son-in-law enjoyed the cooking as well! lol

Always a please my Dear and I love to hear all about your joeys visit. I hope you will be going back soon again 🌸💖🌸

@birdsinparadise You are amazing! So delicious and healthy recipe 😍😍😍

Thank you @monika-homa! I think you would love it, so rich and tasty! :)

I have more and more recipe tabs open on my computer that just REMAIN open hahahahahaa. and now THIS one can join his friends! hehehehe

i absolutely LOVE this idea - i thought it was baked at first!!! but look at it - beautiful and raw and gluten free!!!!!!! hooray for meeeeeeeeeeee hehehehehe

I can't wait to try this!!! i don't have a food dehydrator but i'll try to oven dry! ;)

thank you for this scrumptious looking recipe!! :)

You are so sweet! I too have so many more ideas to share with you all! I love it. Yes, raw provides more nutrition for us. This is rich and tasty, my daughter was very happy with it. You can use the oven but on it's lowest temp! Thanks for your sweet words, so appreciated :)

mmmmmmmmm i hope I catch sight of them while I'm swimming in the Steemiverse hehehehehe If I make this - I'll be sure to give you my review! but mmmmm it looks so good - so so so good! hahahaahaa

This looks amazing. Think a scoop of homemade vegan ice cream would go well with that too. Happy to hear you are enjoying some time in the kitchen with your grandson.

I agree! If I had time I would have made some nice cream! They were just please to have a sweet treat :) Yes, I enjoyed a week of snuggles with that little guy, so fun. Thanks Amy, so good to hear from you! Hope you enjoy your vacay this week!

We certainly will. Enjoy the rest of the week ;)

yummy, this looks so good.

Thank you! I hope you'll try it!

Yes, in any case ;)

Amazing presentation! Hope it wasn't too hard to wait before eating a piece, I think I would've eaten some before I had the chance to take a picture. Looks very tasty :)

Actually I did make my daughter wait! She was patient but giggled at her crazy mom with the camera...Thanks for your kind words!

Your recipes are always so amazing @birdsinparadise, your family is blessed having you in the kitchen! You must be missing the littlest Birdie ;)

Thank you dear @lizelle! It was such a bllessing to be with the little guy. Wonderful sweet disposition, fun to snuggle with! Loved making treats for them, gave them a much needed respite :)

Lucky granny and lucky family xxx

Cute little helping hand! @birdsinparadise as always your recipe and photos are inspiring! Yay for dehydrators

Thank you @buckaroo, can't get enough of the little guy, such a sweet blessing and fun visit! Yes, I LOVE my dehydrator...so many fun things to do with it, my daughter loved these apple treats, a nice break for her as a new mom :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25