FruitandVeggiesMonday: Meet the Egg Fruit - A Strange, Tasty And Unique Fruit 🌞🌱🌸

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday7 years ago (edited)

eggfruit-3.jpg

Fruits season has definitely started in our garden. Woot Woot. After the bananas last week, we have some egg fruit ready today.

If you have never heard of egg fruit than you are not alone. I had to google this strange fruit too when my landlady told me it's not a mango tree but egg fruit tree. Though they have similar leaves their fruit is quite different.

To be honest it is the strangest tropical fruit I have come across until now. Though it looks quite normal from the outside…. A bit mango-ish…. The inside has the color and texture of a hardboiled egg yolk, hence its name egg fruit! Just like a boiled egg yolk it is fluffy and dry, not juicy at all despite its 60% water content.

eggfruit-4.jpg

eggfruit-5.jpg

eggfruit-7.jpg

Egg fruit aka yellow sapote (or See Da in Khmer or the Cambodian language)


The fruit is harvested from an evergreen tree called canistel (Pouteria campechiana) which is native to Central America, but it is also cultivated for its fruits in other tropical and sub-tropical regions such as-as Brazil, Taiwan, Vietnam, Indonesia, Sri Lanka, the Philippines, and Cambodia.

eggfruit-8.jpg

Just as bananas, tomatoes, melons and many other fruits, egg fruit displays climacteric fruit ripening. Meaning it depends on ethylene production and a rise in cellular respiration to fully ripen the fruit. The climacteric event also leads to pigment changes and sugar release.

Egg fruit in the kitchen


The thin, delicate skin of the fruit contains latex sap, so generally, the peel is discarded. Though I am kinda new to this fruit, so I have eaten it raw and used it in a smoothie, some people make eggnog using an eggfruit in place of actual eggs. The yolky taste of the fruit makes a surprisingly close substitute. Furthermore, it can be used raw or cooked in many savory or sweet dishes.

Some use it as a substitute for pumpkin puree. So a pumpkin pie made with eggfruit is coming up.

eggfruit-1.jpg

eggfruit-9.jpg

eggfruit-10.jpg

Nutritional value


The flesh of the eggfruit is high in niacin (vitamin B3), carotene (precursor of vitamin A), vitamin C, iron, calcium and phosphorous.

eggfruit-2.jpg

This was my entry to #fruitsandveggiesmonday initiated by the gorgeous @lenasveganliving. If you don't know here go check out her profile and be amazed by the wonderful posts she makes to draw attention to adding more whole fresh foods to our life! Thanks for keeping this lovely contest running!

Thanks for reading! Until next time.


signature-new.png


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH NIKON D5600


LET'S CONNECT!

Website - Facebook - Google+ - Twitter - Pinterest - YouTube


FYI: For green smoothie tips, tricks, and recipes, download my FREE green smoothie eBook HERE!

Sort:  

Unique Fruit, does not seem to exist in my area

It sure is. Might grow in Indonesia too. Not sure. Keep an eye out for it though. Such a lovely fruit! Thanks for stopping by!

An egg comes in many forms... if you are going to do some throwing eggs at people I reckon you don't use hard-boiled or fried eggs but the fresh ones. Egg fruit more resembles hardboiled egg ;) So I think it truly deserves its name ;) Have a great day and keep it egg-free!

Wow! another fruit to try in SE Asia! I have never had one. I will be in Bangkok in March and will ask about it. Hopefully I can try this exotic fruit. Thanks for sharing it!

I hope you can find it. It definitely grows in Thailand too but apparently, the fruit is not commercially interesting so it usually only grows at peoples houses. Before we moved in here I had never seen it and I spend so much time in Asia and the markets here already. Always welcome here to get some ;) It not far when you are already in Bangkok ;)

What a beautiful post! I am currently traveling through South East Asia and can‘t wait to try this beauty ☺️ The flesh seems quite creamy and fatty on the pictures, similar to an avocado - is that correct or am I mistaken?

No that's about right... but even fluffier and much drier than avocado meat. A hard-boiled egg yolk is really the best way to describe t. Hope you find it. Have been living here for a while and traveled through Asia and never saw it on the markets.

Yes, it looks exactly like egg yolk 😄 I seems to learn to know a new fruit every day, some that I can‘t even pronounce - I will keep my eyes open for this one 😉

Have you tried teh soursop already... they are like vegan yogurt. Sio yum! My favorite. Durian too as Kampot is known for them but they are too expesive tio eat every day!

Soursop - doesn‘t ring a bell. I will research it and look for them next time I am strolling around a market. Vegan yogurt definitely sounds intriguing 😁 I haven‘t tried durian before and am super excited to find out if I belong the those loving or those detesting it 😄

Forget their comments its amazing... so is soursop ;) Happy munching ;)

I have never seen this fruit, I love to cook it, a great pleasure to have it in your hands, excellent post!! @amy-goodrich

Thanks @gersson. Hope you can find and taste it one day. Such a special treat from mother earth!

So cool! I wish I could try one.

Come and get one. You guys are in Thailand soon-ish, right? Drop by Cambodia we got plenty ;)

I am totally amazed Amy!!! This is an incredible fruit and I wish they would sell it here...........I have to check the Asian supermarkets, who knows, I may find it.

Thank you so much for another wonderful entry and for the shout out and calling me gorgeous. Yeah, maybe when I was 20 year younger, lol. You are sooooooooo sweet my Dear 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

You still are a beauty thanks to all the fruits and vegs... inside and outside. Hope you can find it one day. Apparently is not commercially interesting to grow and sell... maybe I should collect the seeds and send them around the world! But they'll prob don't grow in Canada though ;)

It looks like I just have to start planning the trip, if I wanna try it, lol. Although it would be nice to have them here, so I can experiment to use them in recipes 🌿😉🌿

I bet you have so much other nice whole foods to experiment with ;) And yes come visit us!

You are do sweet thank you Amy 💚

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL EARNED AWARD!
4.png

So interesting! You have so many different kinds of fruit there. It would be fun to try that -- I'v never heard of it. I'll be looking forward to what you make from all that egg fruit! :D

Was thinking of pumpkin pie but then with egg fruit instead of pumpkin... already ate it whole and used it ins smoothies. More to come ;) Have a lovely day!

hee hee, it looks like yolk eggs :))) very interesting, Amy! in Israel, I have not seen such a plant

It sure is an interesting fruit. Don't think it grows in your region... it's a tropical tree. Thanks for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59159.44
ETH 2522.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47