Happy Independence Day Malaysia!

in #fruit6 years ago

To All Malaysia and Malaysian Steemians, Happy Merdeka!

Did we celebrate our Merdeka different this year, Yes and Why? The reason because we have a new Government! It is not only the Independence Day, but it is also the fruit season Rambutan. I have seen there are many stalls on the roadside selling the Rambutan at an affordable price such as RM 4.00 (1.04 Steem) per kilogram or RM 10.00 (2.64 Steem) for 3 kilograms.


3 kilograms Rambutan for the long weekend

I have been craving Rambutan for quite sometimes already, but Rambutan is unlike the Durian which available all year long. Rambutan only available for sale when it is on the season. Bought 3 KG to enjoy for this weekend.


Why did the Rambutan word come from?

Rambutan is a Malay word, and there is no English word for this type of fruit, the only taxonomic name which is Nephelium lappaceum. The fruit word means Rambut (Hair) because the fruit is hairy. In Vietnam Rambutan has a different name, it called chôm chôm (it's means Messy Hair) because the spines are covering the fruit. Rambutan is a tropical fruit that available in Tropical Southeast Asia. Rambutan trees can bear fruit for twice a year, but only available in the particular area, August and September is the fruit season. Red colour means ripe while the ​green colour means still a young fruit which cannot eat.


This is how it looks​ like when it open.

It is relatively easy to open, you can use your finger, you can bite the fruit, or you can use a ​knife to open the fruit. To open a Rambutan if using a knife, you just cut the skin but not deep into the fruit seed, and then you use your hand to open it. You will see a semi-transparent,​ and you can eat it now. The taste is sweet like sugar but tastes​ different than sugar, and I love it, Rambutan is one of my Favourite Food.


Once it open, you see the semi-transparent.

Usually, this is how I love to eat my Rambutan. I will open all the Rambutan that I think I can finish and then put it in a bowl. Wrap it up and put it in the refrigerator​ to make it cold, after three to four​ hours I will take it out and enjoy my cold Rambutan.

Sort:  

I wish you a pleasant day😍congrats

Rambutan.. yum yum... I love rambutan too... Ngom ngom ngom... You got 3kg. . I virtually ngom 5 rambutan... 😛

Posted using Partiko Android

Yum Yum Yum, hahaha virtually ngom 5 KG. LOL. KK Rambutan so red le. I saw @veenang post.

Nolah... Cannot eat 5kg lah... At most 10 biji je. The 5kg leave for the black hole lah... Kan @aaronleang? 😉😛

Posted using Partiko Android

Happy independence day!!!

Rambutan is seasonal here as well and you're right. It named that way because it's hairy so Rambutan xD

Hey @macchiata, thank you!! Really? should enjoy a lot of rambutan then. It is fruit season, I love fruit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85