You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Frugality: Dehydrating Herbs

This is wonderful, I use my dehydrator for meat and such. I dry my goji berries and other fruits. Yes they do take longer when they have juices. Just a question. Spices and herbs are relatively cheap to purchase, wouldn't the cost of Electricity to dry the herbs, than it would be to just freeze them or buy more fresh, from the store. Here in Canada Hydro power is very very expensive, not too sure about where you are, and your hydro cost. Just curious of the cost effectiveness. Thanks

Sort:  

I'd have to do some serious calculations and get back to you haha but our electricity is not terribly expensive. (I HIGHLY doubt it's hydro probably fossil fuels unfortunately) For me it was more about not wasting the herbs which cost me $3 a bundle. I could have saved time and energy by drying the herbs together just on separate racks . Also I use fresh herbs very little though I am trying to work on that so I will get more use out of them dehydrated. Dehydrating also means they will stay good even if our power goes out which after the hurricane and not having power for 6 days is something I always consider. You are right though it might not be the best solution for everyone

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64056.77
ETH 2654.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83