So It Is Time Of Black FridaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #friday6 years ago (edited)

black-2951012_960_720.png

Yes, today as I write it is black Friday. I had to look it up, why do they call it black Friday? It goes back to are you in the "Red", a retailer loosing money or in the "Black", a retailer making money.

It is the time to see if the retailer can get back into the "Black", making money. So there are going to be tremendous sales today. People have been waiting in lines for the stores to open. Some people even camp out.

All the traffic to the malls are heavy and the parking lots are full. A lot of the retailers will be giving away free stuff to fight to get as many customers into the store as possible.

Even with a lot of people in the store does not guarantee that a retailer will profit. It is the hope of the retailer that not only will the customer get in the store, but actually buy something while there.

When I used to work for the telephone company, the Friday after Thanksgiving was a holiday, paying holiday pay. I would always volunteer to work that day to get the extra time and a half pay.

As I would get to my work I would have to drive pass the mall area. I would see people in lines at 4 am in the morning.

Every time I volunteered to work that holiday I would always have to come in earlier than my normal starting time. Can you imagine people in line at that time?

Some were in the line since midnight or even earlier. Well I would always be entertained just looking at those lines.

I am old enough to remember people fighting over a cabbage patch doll. Yes when they were the craze of the day and girls wanted them, the moms and dads would fight to get there hands on them.

Some would even buy them just to resell them at $100 to $300 for one cabbage patch doll. That was sometime in the 80's.

I expect it to be crazy out there. I don't know if the retailers will make it into the black today or not. I know that people don't have as much money as they used to.

I read how certain stores will be closing after the holiday season.

Better for me to stay home today.

If you have to get out there, well just stay safe.

Sources 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7

If you enjoyed this blog please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image from pixabay.com

Sort:  

Oh yeah i remember the cabbage patch doll craze. I dont buy much stuff, but if I was going to I think I would online instead!!

Yes, online is better. No lines.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13