Day 515: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: hear, hear

in #freewritepoetry5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190316_194518168.jpg

You have to hear it with your eyes
my teacher said.
I understood.

I felt the sound of my own voice
flood my eyes
become more intimate
more deeply felt
more known

It was the way he said it
drawn out and floated upon
a descending tone
a song of its own

The power of a word,
how it is used,
when it is said,
to whom and by whom,
where.

The room itself all tiny mirrors
that a geomancer might be happy with,
all those imps we've let in
or barricaded out.

The room,
the word
the place
the time
the song
elevating our souls
so that we can all,
knowing or not,
hear the music with our eyes


This is my entry to @mariannewest freewrite, my favorite part of the day. https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-515-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-hear-hear

Once again, I'm trying to capture the magic that sometimes happens in a room full of people and live music. The next time you're in Nyack NY, check out Maureen's Jazz Cellar.


Note to self: I started trying to write this as a story, but realized it was a poem half way through, so I stopped, reset the timer and let it be what it wanted to be. Below is what came out at first, unchanged in any way. I could feel the poem trying to break through the prose.


"you have to hear it with your eyes." my teacher said during our first lesson together. At that very moment I understood what he was saying, I could hear every sound in the room through my eyes and it was a revelation, an opening of my eyes yet at that moment they did not see, but hear.

I forgot about this statement for a few days, until I heard him say it again, giveing that word "eyes" a magical song all its own as he said it. "Eyes" drawn out and floated upon levating our ears and a decscending tone that I slid on as he said it. It was his sayying of the word eyes that opened them, let them hear instead of see. The power of a word, how it is used, whe it is said, to whom by whom, where. The room itsef all tny mirrors that probably do something a geomancer would be happy with, all those imps we've let in or barridacde out, the room, the word the place, the time elevating our ears and our eyes.

Sort:  

Uncle Bruni likes it when you go with the flow. 👍👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for the resteem!

Beautiful thoughts, my friend. I love:

It was the way he said it
drawn out and floated upon
a descending tone
a song of its own

Thanks for sharing your inspiration.

Posted using Partiko Android

oh thank you! and for stopping by!

Lets say is a poetry - story hehe

What a beautiful poem @owasco! The music has touched my soul.

Resident cat here, helping to deliver today's new prompt on this official first day of spring. Yay! https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-516-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-departure

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

I was hooked with you have to hear with your eyes!!

yes that part is not mine, it's from my voice teacher the incomparable David Budway.
But I'm sure glad it grabbed you!

Love it when the words take over! Beautiful!

Posted using Partiko iOS

It's why I do this, for those times I'm just the messenger.

This post has been selected for curation by @sunravelme. It has been upvoted and will be featured in this week's Working Title post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

Why that is lovely! Thank you! I like this one too.

You have to hear it with your own eyes is a fantastic line. Love it! And this is a great reminder about how to feed your head: all those imps we've let in or barricaded out. The power of a word. In the book of John, we see it: In the beginning was the word, and the word was God. God said let there be light, and there was light. Physics tells us the universe began with sound (vibrations). Makes sense to me. :)

And oh, yeah, I'd love to visit Maureen's Jazz Cellar!!

It would be worth the trip! Safest most loving room I've ever been in, even if it is in a cellar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30