FREEWRITEMADNESS DAY #2: LET'S SEE WHERE IT GOES FROM HERE

img_20170203_020514.jpg

So today is day 2 of the #freewritemadness. Today i had a sluggish start but i managed to pull through. So if don't know about #freewritemadness, it is contest where I and 16 other participants aim to pen 50,000 words in the month of November. The other participants are as follows (please show them some love by upvoting and commenting on their post):

@amelin
@botefarm
@felt.buzz
@grow23
@improv
@kaelci
@kaerpediem
@linnyplant
@mariannewest
@ntowl
@stinawog
@carolkean
@byn
@kipswolfe
@bennettitalia
@aislingcronin

db5JC5b0-Madness.png

Synopsis:

This is work/novel is going to be a compilation of different short stories I will be writing this month.

db5JC5b0-Madness.png

DRAFT #2

"Mrs. Ikedu your husband and kids were involved in a ghastly accident along the Lagos-Ibadan expressway. Your husband sustained major injuries to the head. He is under surgery as we speak. As for your kids...well, madam your attention is needed at the hospital immediately."

I drive in silence for an hour to the hospital. I can not scream; I can not cry, I just drive. With cold sweat dripping down my neck I enter the hospital. I work half way to the reception and then I stop. I think I have stopped breathing because my heart is beating too hard and fast for me to hear my thoughts. where could they be? I do not know what to say or who to ask about my husband's condition and my boys, my God.

I still cannot move. My legs are paralyzed.

"Madam are you okay? Madam? M-a---d-a-m"

kome faints

About a month earlier

We are arguing about something I could not and do not care to remember. All I know is that for the past one month now I've been on edge. Everything irritates me, from my job at school to my kids down to my husband, everyone is freaking pissing me off! I am frustrated about life-- our lives. We are struggling with everything, even struggling is an understatement when compared to the ordeal we've encountered so far. Mike, my eldest son was arrested the previous week. According to the police, he and his friends who were members of a notorious cult on campus were responsible for the death of a senior lecturer. He denies ever being involved with cultist and I believe. That's what mothers do, we don't doubt our children. We trust and love them with all our heart respective of the truth, which sometimes is so painfully vivid for one to enjoy.

I've been running around, trying to see how I can gather enough money for his bail. My boy is caught up in this mess and no one believes me when I say he is innocent. I can't even bear to imagine the condition he is in currently. Ifeanyi, on the other hand, isn't helping matters. He just sits and complains about everything, and how I spoilt our son. He refuses to help out in any way.

"I will never be a father to criminal," he says, "over my dead body will I ever be part of this, never!"

Maybe it's high time you die

All the threats and noise will still not cover for his inadequacies. I know his real reason for this supposed indifference. Ifeanyi has no money--we have no money, that is the problem. He couldn't bear the shame of being an inadequate father who cannot cater for his children so he hides under the cloud of morality. Moments like this make me regret coming here to Nigeria.

Ever since we came to Nigeria things have gone from bad to worse. We are worse than struggling, living off family and friends. People have begun to avoid us and we them because we are so deep in debt. Everywhere I turn to I am confronted by one problem or another, and Ifeanyi is nowhere to be found. My darling husband has left our family's problems for me alone to bear.

Ifeanyi has perfected his disappearing act. Every time we have a major issue at home he vanishes. He either returns home at odd hours or he doesn't even bother at all. Rumor has it that he has a mistress but that does not perturb me. He can sleep with the whole community for all I care, but the day he would try such he will find that carrot between his legs that has made him irresponsible pig that chases anything in a skirt. It's not like I want him all to myself--what do I need him for? After twenty years of marriage, some things just fade away and our supposed love is one of them. He has hardly touched me of late. The last time we came close to having anything intimate he slept off on me. You know I really do not care about these things but they hurt sometimes in ways you cannot begin to imagine.


I wake up to the sound of a moving vehicle--someone just drove into our compound. I peep through the window to see who it is and lo and behold it is my good-for-nothing husband in a flashy car. Is this why he has been away for two weeks now? Unfortunate bastard. I will burst the windows of this car if he does get my son.

"Mama!"

Mike? Mike! my boy_. I dash out of my room before I wake up from this beautiful dream. What is happening?

I hug my son immediately I see him. I hold him tight enough and it does not feel like a dream. He is real! My boy is out of that dirty prison. How is this possible?

I search his face with my hands, hoping to find answers to my question.

"Calm down woman, do you want to hurt the boy?"

I turn to my husband who is not surprised at all by this unexplainable miracle. I know Mike is innocent, but...

"How--

"-- it doesn't matter. The most important thing is that he is out," says Ifeanyi.

He is right. I do not care how or why they let him go, I am glad to see my son again and that's all that matters. However, there is something about Ifeanyi's demeanor that bothers me. The last time I saw him this way was a very long time along--when we first met, ever since then he has been a shadow of himself.

It is a week since Mike's release and I have been waiting for something to happen. I do not know what I am expecting but I can't seem to wrap my head around the fact that they will let him go just like that. I even went as far as going to the police station and everyone there seemed to be oblivious of the case.

On a positive note, our entire lives is taking a U-turn. Ifeanyi met this friend of his who linked him to this business that is bringing in a lot of money, well, that is what he told me, who am I to question my lovely husband? Well I won't deny that it bothers me. I still haven't had time to process things because everything is happening simultaneously and easy too. Mike got released, Ifeanyi's business--whatever it is-- is booming and our love is rekindled. He cares now. Ifeanyi buys me gifts, spends time with me, we are even having sex again--good old quality sex. I don't know, but it feels like life is giving me a second chance and I am not willing to take chances with it

to be continued

db5JC5b0-Madness.png

Today's word count: 1146
Total: 2568
Remaining: 47432

db5JC5b0-Madness.png
P.s I'm really bad at editing my own work so if you spot any typo or error please let me know so I can make the required changes

db5JC5b0-Madness.png

For a chance to WIN SteemBasicIncome just read and comment on my #freewritemadness posts NovMadFan.gif For more information visit the @freewritehouse

Sort:  

Congratulations @nonsowrites! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

This is going to be so much fun. Hope you get a lot of fans following you!

Well, not really but I'm hopeful things will improve in the coming days :)
However, I've had some nice comments and upvotes. So it's a good start

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, not really but I'm hopeful things will improve in the coming days :)
However, I've had some nice comments and upvotes. So it's a good start

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nonsowrites from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

#NovMadFan Bruni thinks you're doing great. Keep going. 🙏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15