You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NaNoWriMo update: the intricacies of themes, characters, and plot

Sometimes, when writing, I feel like I'm in charge, like a film director or a screenwriter. At other times, it seems as if the characters are acting independently, just doing whatever they feel like doing, and I'm sitting here watching it all unfold and feeling more or less helpless to do anything about the direction things are taking other than to document it for posterity.
This describes EXACTLY how I often feel! The writing process takes so many twists and turns, and authors are so often not in control of it.
Sort:  

Yes! As a writer who is relatively new to fiction, I was, and still am, surprised by this at times. The feeling of being out of control, and the insecurity around that, can get to be pretty intense when trying to write a longer fiction piece, let alone a novel. Then I remind myself to try to have patience, to give the characters a chance, find out what they have to say, and see if things don't come clear in the process. Just a few days ago I was looking at my original notes and laughing at how very different they are from what has actually emerged as the characters have had their say so far in the process of writing...

I don't think I'm really in control, no 🤣

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16