The day I ate 362 day old yogurt

in #freewrite6 years ago

IMG_20180403_185610.jpg

I remember that day well, we were getting ready for the Christmas holidays.

Cleaning up the office and clearing out the refrigerator.

Eliza, going through everything, to make sure it wasn't expired.

There she was, reaching way in the back of the fridge, she pulls out that cup of Dannon Blueberry Yogurt.

She checks the date, and just as she was about to toss that cup in the trash, I snatched it from her hand, like a pebble from Kung Fu's palm.

Eliza looks at me and says, "Throw that away, it expired in December....of last year."

My eyes grew wide, last year, I thought to myself, actually it had been expired 362 days.

Eliza looks at me and says, "you're gonna get sick if you eat that." 🤒

I didn't get sick, it tasted like I had just bought it at Walmart.

I haven't thrown away an expired cup of yogurt ever since. But I sure will empty a gallon a milk down the toilet, if it's one day past it's use by date!

True story and photo by Bruni

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-165-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-yogurt

z2u3jv2innyratziv1mo.jpg@fireawaymarmot artist
U5dsLKV33HXTDu76NWm82XTqf9vk7ZG.gif

U5drpP6qjs4GazpyKU1saYeHLPtKDGV_1680x8400.png
Click my referral link for free Manna

Sort:  

If you are afraid of wolves, then it is better not to go to the forest for mushrooms) This is a good advertisement to the manufacturer)) It costs a lot of money!

I know, I should sell my story to Dannon.

300% Your portrait should be on the packaging of their products.

You have more guts (ie. bravery) than me. Something to be proud of!!

It really was good. If it had mold or something gross on it, I would have never tried it.

I poured sour milk over my cereal once. Now I smell the milk every time before pouring.

Yeah, I ruined cereal once too.

What? I knew you were crazy and this is proof! You really must love yogurt. : )
Resident cat here asking "What?" about the rumor that I am a coco nut: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-167-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-coconut

You're such a good litter helper. We live you.

HaHa! A good litter helper? I love you too! Hugs! : )

Nothing wrong with some old yogurt that remained refrigerated! I eat expired yogurt all the time.

Actually, I eat alotta expired things and take expired medications. Expiration dates are for pussies. 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00