The Healing Element of Pan Pipes - Day 190:5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

The Healing Element of Pan Pipes



I don't remember much after Mom died. Probably two years blurred by and somehow I continued to homeschool my three children. It was a blessing that they used Paces, or work books, to move from one semester to the next.

I attribute music to maintaining some level of sanity to my fractured psyche. The loss of a parent is never easy. The loss which comes of suicide even more difficult.

Somewhere in that blur I found the music of the pan pipes and spent endless hours after lessons listening to the haunting melody of this bamboo instrument.

I spent an equal amount of time writing out my thoughts and working through the incongruity of Mom's life interrupted.
I was 38, my children all three under the age of 18.

Time stood still for me, but life moved relentlessly forward. I also fell upon piano solos and devoured peaceful mindscapes created by Windham Hill artist George Winston.

Music is an incredible balm to a wounded spirit and often gentles us through and out of a grieving night.

This is one of the pan pipe melodies I played repeatedly during that time. I know my children all remember it well. I am so indebted to the composers who assuaged my healing spirit.

This freewrite was written for today's 5 minute freewrite prompt bamboo

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively writers!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for a month!

U5dsRbXTSANY4Pyzn62VwCCPWft8PvG_1680x8400.png
wandrnrose7_red.png

rose7.png

Logo by @hoschitrooper

U5dsySA1DicJEJ2Q3oS7GZLA5xqK9Fe.gif

Sort:  

Music is indeed magical and helps us throughout our lives, I'm glad you found healing in these musics and pan pipes are definitely soothing.

I am glad there are fellow Steemians who like the Pan Pipes as much as me!

Very much so. This promt reminded me of how much I do. It still makes me feel so peaceful. Thanks for your comment!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wandrnrose7 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I just listened to one that had me biting my lip. It was so beautiful.

This is so beautiful. Thank you for sharing it. What a gorgeous location, too!

It looks like Cali, but am sure lots of places look like that. I didn't listen to his other ones, for fear of watery eyes. I must be getting soft. Used to be good at holding things in. :) Glad you liked it. <3 <3

I so love it! And it looks like a place I want to see!

Me too. I need to go where weather is not so gloomy like it is here.

Oooh I know this tune <3 I've heard it here and there, more or less constantly, ever since I was a child, and I always found it soothing as well <3
I'm glad music helped you through such pain, I know the feeling <3 Music is my go-to when I need someone ( or something) to pick me up as well!

Sometimes I read pieces about people who live far and wide and relate in ways I didn't expect to. I lost my mum two decades ago and my father one decade ago. I have three children all under 18 though I am living with one. Instrumental music and sounds of falling rain have kept me sane since I realized it was my perfect therapy! Thank you for sharing this... goes straight to my playlist :)

I'm so happy to hear that this poetry and music resonated with you, too. I suppose it takes a loss like this sometimes to seek out those things that bring the heart comfort. I'm glad that I have brought to you a good memory. Thank you so much for stopping and commenting on my piece!

Music can be healing... it's helped me get through so much <3

I agree. I can't say enough to what music does for me. Every day has many a song. <3

I have heard this many times. One day, it released so many things I had held in. I bought an Indian flute, which makes the same sounds. I need/want to learn to play it. My heart goes out to you. A beautiful melody for a beautiful soul.

Thank you, my sweet friend, I see that you have felt the music, too,
and I hope you do learn to play that Indian flute and then post to Steemit! hugs

That is my plan. I let the reaction of a teenager stop me from learning. But now, upon listening to this melody twice, I will go back to it. I will just practice in my room, with door closed.
I closed my eyes and held headset to my ears, to Feel the peacefulness. Come to think of it, this would make a great meditation cd, if he has one.

It absolutely would. I agree, I'm pretty sure there was one. That's how I came across it in the beginning. I borrowed a cassette at the public library. I'm so glad you are inspired again!

I'm listening to pan pipes as I go about steeming. (relaxing beach.) I have to stop upvoting though, which is hard for me to do. :( My vote power is low.

What a beautiful background to steem by. no worries on the votes, we love that you read!

Too late, already upvoted your last comment. :) HUGZZZ

Aww hugs back! <3

Thanks for sharing this! It is true about the healing touch of music and how sharing with others can be helpful. These words reach out to others!

Thank so much for reading and I can't emphasize enough how vital it was to me! hugs!

I played this very piece music when my father passed away and again when my husband passed away. It a soothing balm for the soul. Thanks for sharing.

I'm glad you found comfort with this same piece. It really is a wonderful composition. Hugs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30