The Genetic Blend - Day 35 Selfie Freewite Celebration

in #freewrite6 years ago

The Genetic Blend

As a child I always hoped to look like my beautiful mother and struggled with comments from well meaning family and friends who commented, "You look just like your Dad!"

What young girl hopes to look like a man? I didn't understand that they were just noticing a resemblance in family features and I despaired that I would grow more and more like his masculine features. I learned how silly this was as I aged, and am even proud to be called my father's daughter today. I called early this morning to wish him a happy Father's Day today.

As I aged, though, more people began telling me that I resemble my Mother and I was thrilled to know I resemble her, if even faintly. I had been touched with her genetic mold after all. Her photo for her wedding announcement was chosen, unbeknownst to her, and blown up like a poster on the photographer's studio window. Imagine her surprise to see this photo in his shop one day!

This picture is one of my favorite of her. She was 19 when they announced their engagement. I think what I coveted most was her fun and loving personality. I like to think that I was gifted with a touch of these qualities. Can you glimpse her in my features?

This is my 5 minute freewrite.
The prompt today is:
mold

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively freewriters!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

U5dsySA1DicJEJ2Q3oS7GZLA5xqK9Fe.gif

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase
join here and free Check out this app ... It pays for walking referrals earn free coin, too!

signature_2.gif

Sort:  

I can definitely see the resemblance! You are beautiful either way.

I too look like my dad and am built like him. I hated it as a teen as I was 'sturdy' and my mom way tiny and willowy. I grew into my own, though.

It's a such a remarkable resemblance! I honestly came here curious to find out how you had digitally altered an image of your younger self. :-)

Thank you, my friend! I took a ton of pics trying to get that photo angle. It's harder than it looks!

It was certainly very beautiful your mother @ wandrnrose7, excellent picture and very good idea of the comparison; although as you let it glimpse, normally the physical thing is not the most important to inherit ... the most beautiful thing is to maintain those beautiful behaviors and ways of being of our parents. In that way they will live forever with us.
Greetings @wandrnrose7

Thank you for your kind words of support. I fully agree, my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23