My Secret Quirk - Five Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

My Secret Quirk - Five Minute Freewrite

I sit here with my spotlessly clean feet and a pair of flip-flops that keep falling off of my foot. They're old and black and the hole that connects the top to the bottom on the left flip flop is too wide so, as I walk, every once in a while, the flip-flop literally flops.

It's no longer summer here in Northwestern Pennsylvania. The cold weather has already come and we are wearing jackets.

This weekend we're going to get some warmer weather. I'm told it's going to be up in the 80s and we are scheduled to have a family get-together Saturday because my nephew, Mitchell, who just started over the road truck driving has the weekend off and wants to see the rest of the family. He is from Florida. He's been living in Miami for a long time with my sister, but he decided to take training and some tests and got his CDL license will all the necessary licensing to become an on the road trucker, so now he travels all over the United States and takes pictures and posts them on Instagram. We are going to try gather at a picnic area in Erie because the weather is supposed to be nice and everyone can bring along a dishe, if it all works out. My dad is not the best at planning so he didn't really think about the food. I did suggest a restaurant to make things easy, but he wants to do an outside deal, if it all possible.

Why are my feet sparkling clean? I have a funny thing about having my feet in shoes of any kind. During the summer, I walk around in these flip-flops. I must admit that they have come to the end of the road and I constantly have to keep putting them back together, at least the left one that keeps breaking. Today I wore a brand new pair of gray Skechers kicks to work. I got them at a great deal in Canada two weeks ago for $22 USD after our US exchange discount. I must admit, besides seeing my best friend, that I love to shop in Canada and get some good deals. I bought a pair of sneakers and a pair of tall black boots at DSW and at the end of the day they cost me around $60... not a bad take.

New Skechers Kicks

Any day that I wear shoes, I come home and I go into the bathroom I fill the bathroom sink with warm water and I wash them down. I found a foot scrub for pedicures in the cabinet and used it today and I even used a pumice stone. My feet feel pretty awesome now. I sit on the bathroom sink and soak my feet for about 10 minutes and then scrub them. I dry them off well and put them in flip-flops if it's warm enough or a fuzzy pair of slippers followed by a pair of house shoes.

I'm funny like that, I admit. I guess we all have our quirks and this is one of mine. I've always loved being barefoot and only in the last handful of years started wearing flip-flops around the house just because I cannot stand dirty feet! Somebody else's feet can be dirty, but I just don't want my own feet to be dirty. I like to go to bed and put my clean feet in clean sheets.

I think the cutest thing is when my little grandson, Jasper runs around barefoot. He has dirty little feet and sometimes a little bit of dirt on his cheeks. He doesn't mind getting dirty. I remember the days when I ran around, even on stones with bare feet. I, at 56, am getting a little soft, I admit. I can't imagine walking on stones or dirt. Although every once in awhile I do like to feel green grass underneath my feet. Pennsylvania has a lot of green grass in the summer time. Every once in awhile, Jeff will drive me home and he will drive with bare feet or when he shows up with at my door to drop something off.

My grandson

I'm not that courageous there are bees around here, and stones and bugs, and things like that. Things change, and people change and even our opinions on dirty feet change.

So now I've admitted to you one of my strange quirks. Don't laugh too hard! Do you have any quirks that you keep hidden? Now is the time to come out with them! Thank you for reading.

This is today's five minute freewrite.
Here is the link for today.
describe a clock

I'm late for yesterday's prompt dirty feet but it spoke to me today.

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively freewriters!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

U5dsySA1DicJEJ2Q3oS7GZLA5xqK9Fe.gif

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase
join here and free Sweatcoin ... It pays for walking referrals earn free coin, too!

Sort:  

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

Thanks for reading, although I don't see your vote using Partiko app and your comments are all the same. This is considered Spamming
Welcome to Steemit and please take a moment to read the FAQ and write comments based off of the posts for a successful experience.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wandrnrose7 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hahaha, not weird at all! After 2 babies I feel myself getting soft too, and there are seasons in my life when I had my flip-flops on at home because I couldn't stand the cold floor. The Chinese believes that the body may be weak when that happens, so best to put on some socks, it's especially true for the ladies.

I see the point of that... thank you for reading, dear.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm trying to imagine how one washes one’s feet in the sink. My sink is waist height and only about 5 inches long. I did paddle in the sea today though which was divine.
Your Wednesday prompt delivery team here again with your challenge for today:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-328-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-screening

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11