Hard Won Freedom - Five Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Hard Won Freedom

My driver's license was very hard won. In a controlling marriage men will do anything to isolate their woman and limit freedom and social interaction. At age 30, having married at 17, I'd never had the opportunity to learn how to drive. I was determined to learn. My sister was 20 and had her own car. She started driving the hour drive to visit me so she could teach me how to drive. We would practice on the sly when my husband was at work. Slowly, I gained enough skill.

Eventually, I was ready to take my driver's test. My sister-in-law agreed to let me drive her car to take the test in a nearby town. Unfortunately, it was my first time driving her car and the turn signal was not on the floor like the car my sister owned. I failed the test before it began.

A few weeks later, I tried again and drove my sister's little red Pacer. I passed with one slight error, but the instructor was kind and let me pass in spite of the rolling stop. I explained that I needed the license to escape an abusive marriage.

The license was my beginning to freedom. Eight years would pass before....

Time's up!


This is my 5 minute freewrite.
Here is the link for today:
drive

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively freewriters!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

U5dsySA1DicJEJ2Q3oS7GZLA5xqK9Fe.gif

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase
join here and free Check out this app ... It pays for walking *referrals earn free coin, too!

Sort:  

I'm glad you escaped. ~today this is @improv

Thank you @improv. The world became a better place for me and my sons after that.

Posted using Partiko Android

i hear ya, right there with ya too ... hugs. even if its made up.

It's all true. Hugs..

i am so glad that it is in your past now!

Me too! <3 this was a long, long time ago!

I really liked this freewrite and recommended your post in the freewritehouse contest this week. I always go for the non-fiction, and this cliffhanger story was a good one I am glad to support :)

Thank you so much! I appreciate the feedback and recommendation. Your words encourage me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59185.02
ETH 2522.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47