Country Girl Meets Day Spa - Day 122:5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Country Girl Meets Day Spa

I'd hold on to that spa ticket for a full year, and it was about to expire. My boyfriend at the time purchased it for me for a Christmas present. I'd never been to a spa before What was a small town country girl like me going to do in a day spa?

Something told me that he spent a lot of money on this gift. It was a three service gift that I had to do in one day.

Phase one was a sugar scrub, phase two a full body massage and phase three an herbal wrap. What in God's name was an herbal wrap? And why in the Earth was I going to be scrubbed with sugar? I did much better eating sugar then I did getting scrub with it.

During this time, I was very sick and I didn't know why I had dropped a lot of weight and it was continuing to fall off of me I like water off a duck's back. The doctors were confused and I had one pointment after the other and a couple of trips to the emergency room and no one can figure out what my problem was. I was almost too tired to drive the one-hour trip to the Emporium Day Spa. I got in the car and I drove an hour at around 3:00 in the afternoon because my appointment was at 4:00.

I arrived on time and parked in the nearly empty parking lot and was greeted at the door by a very pretty girl who ushered me in and told me to undress (eek!) And handed me a fluffy robe and told me to get comfortable and did I want a cup of tea? I said yes and she handed me a mug of warm herb tea.

Ushered in to what looked like a big shower with a bed (!) I was told to take off all of my clothes and I was handed a couple of towels to cover those parts.

I did as I was told and then this young girl who's very petite but who had very strong hands began to use the sugar scrub on my arms and my legs it smelled on the sweet side. I complied, not really knowing what else to do. Before long my sugar scrub is done and I was showered off with a very warm shower. She handed me a hot bath towel and said I should go into another room to wait for Phase 2, the massage, which is really what I was looking forward to.

My body was weak and tired, I wasn't even sure if I should be doing this. But I couldn't waste that expensive gift, could I?

Phase 2
I entered the quiet room with another table and lay down and she asked me what type of massage that I wanted so trying0 not to act stupid I said, "just the usual."

For an hour this young woman worked out the knots and tight spots in my shoulders, in my back and even in my calves (that I didn't know existed). The music played on a little radio in the corner soft sounds of water trickling and birds chirping. It was exactly what I imagined a spa would be like. She finished off the massage with a facial massage, I felt my sinuses opening up and all the attention being released for my face and my neck.

Phase 3
For the final phase, she brought in a very large warm what appeared to be a hot tea bag(whoa!). She wraped this completely around my body and laid a warm herb towel on my face, then slowly closed the door. I lay there and enveloped in the smell of herbs, listening to the quiet song of birds and water trickling for another 20 minutes in a candle lit room.

When I got up I could barely walk, I was so relaxed. This little country girl didn't have a bit of hoity toity to her had just experienced one of those Day Spa sessions that you never even figured that you would want.

I must say that since then I've had several massages but no experience quite like that or a masseuse nearly as skilled with those small, strong hands.

The doctors eventually found out what was wrong with me, in case you're curious, I was suffering from the side effects of a very strong antiepileptic medication called Topamax. They were treating me for migraines and in the end my health deteriorated quite a bit before finally it was discovered that everything from the huge weight loss down to infections that began because of the weight loss and even gallbladder damage stemmed from that drug.

sleep-835468_1920.jpg
Image

This ends my daily freewrite hosted by @mariannewest.
I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively writers. Here is the Sunday prompt. Spa

z2u3jv2innyratziv1mo.jpg
Image by @fireawaymarmot


Discord
Freewriters now have our own room in the Isle of Write Discord!
Here is the link to join: https://discord.gg/zfXNRnK

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for a month!

rose7.png

Logo by @hoschitrooper

wandrnrose7_blue-1.png

Sort:  

I'm glad they found what was wrong, first off. Congrats on that.

And congrats on your spa experience. I'm glad you did it. We should all step out of our comfort zones. And this step-out seemed to be comforting in itself. Your narrative was great. I almost had tears for that li'l country girl.

Joe
@joe.nobel
science fiction, fantasy, erotica

Thank you, @Joe.nobel. it was definitely an eye-opening experience for me. I'm glad I did not allow that gift certificate to go to waste after all. And thank you for the well wishes... I have learned to be very very careful of all medications that are prescribed, this is only one drug that I have been prescribed on my journey since the car accident of 4/09/00 that gave serious side effects for me. <3

I need that herbal wrap, right about now, so thank you for the visualization. So very sorry to hear of your suffering.

Thank you for reading and that wrap leaves you very soothed!

what a story!!!!!!!!!

I had a massage like that once and never again. I left there like a wet rag loll it was so great!! :D

Love that you wrote the whole story out!! Thank you for sharing!!

I'm so glad you liked it and wet rag is exactly the feeling!

Wow. I am so happy they found out what it was, and that you enjoyed your spa, even when you felt that way.

Thank you so much! It was a great reprieve in a lot of pain that ended up in a month off of work and off of my college. It was a hard blow for my body to go through, but I'm really glad that I got to have this experience and it has stuck with me, as you can see.

At least you got something positive out of it. That's what we all have to do sometimes, take a negative and bring it to a positive. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you for your kindness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33