An Introvert's Paradise - Day 8 Freewrite Selfie Contest

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

An Introvert's Paradise

20180521_192436.jpg

Most people hate being home alone, but introverts actually feel comfortable in their own space. Who needs to be constantly entertained? Not me!
I grew up finding ways to amuse myself. When my parents left and took my baby sister with them, I was old enough at 12 to stay by myself. We lived in the country in the middle of the woods down a long dirt and gravel driveway.

My overactive imagination was all I required to entertain myself. This is vastly different than the young people of today. We had a wall phone, but that was for emergency use. When my parents left, I had no contact with anyone. The neighbor was an eighth of a mile away.

I pulled out the current book (no Kindles back then) and stuck my nose in for the blissful hour or three I was left to my own devices.

I admit, I was a bit skittish, so as dusk fell I might turn on the TV. My favorite show was Kolshak. (I'm not sure on the spelling).

It was about a detective who checked out the extraordinary (old style sci-fi) and sometimes it got really scary! I look back and laugh when I compare it to the current truly realistic movies with gore and such. Kolshak was so vanilla compared to these. I recall watching one show and getting so frightened I got up and turned the channel to stop my anxiety ( no remotes back then) only to get back up because I needed to find out what would happen and then get frightened all over again.

But usually, I read books and became lost in stories like A Wrinkle in Time, Black Beauty, Nancy Drew and a hundred other tales.

Home alone was one of the most enriching things growing up and I still seek that time to follow my own mind into realms of the unknown...

Back to my book...

DQma9tAYw8NTk2cmEEDyqVjwADQmNppB97uFpApHKWoG49p_1680x8400.jpeg
This is my 5 minute freewrite hosted by @mariannewest. The prompt is home alone Day 8 Freewrite Selfie Contest

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively frreewriters!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

rose_new.jpg

Logo by @Bembelmaniac

U5dsySA1DicJEJ2Q3oS7GZLA5xqK9Fe.gif

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase
join here and free Sweatcoin ... It pays for walking referrals earn free coin, too!

Sort:  

So true! some books and TV shows causing goosebumps in the childhood and young adult, now innocent bedtime stories :) needles to say the reality

re-zenned (Prock is here from not-announced yet Silent Zen artists support channel :)

Thank you for your thoughtful comment and the resteem! Followed.

Nice freewrite. Hoping that your imaginative mind didn't imagine scary stuffs at night. I do like my alone time though I don't enjoy being alone for too long

I've learned how to be alone for long periods of time, not by choice but by necessity. Of course I always seek out some kind of social life after a while. Thank you for reading!

This seems to be a common theme with today's freewrite! Happiness in solitude and being home alone. I think many writers have that condition. We're happy to be in our own heads, reading and creating things from our imaginations. :)

I agree, we're a group of home alones lol. Thanks for reading and commenting! <3

There is happiness in solitude. It is a time to recharge from the fast lane we all live in.

I could not agree more. Thank you for reading, dear friend.

For me, knowing how to be happy with yourself also means knowing how to be happy with others. I see it positively as a sign of inner balance. I'm so in line with you Jan, as a bookworm I could stay the whole day reading! (But I should read more and stay less in front of the pc). It's always a pleasure to read about you :-)

Definitely, there are times when every person needs moments of reflection alone; maybe some need more time than others and some others reach the extreme of being introverted, but very likely in that area they feel very comfortable and happy ... But as always it is said, the extremes are bad and it is always healthy to be surrounded from the bustle and sharing with people and family, that's the other facet of happiness ... Greetings @ wandrnrose7

I do like to spend time with family, but everything in moderation. I spend my best time reflecting, and have no problem being alone. Thank you for stopping by and reading!

Because I can interact and talk openly people often mistake me for a extrovert but I think I am a introvert at heart. I love my alone time. :)

this was me too! it didnt take my parents leaving either, my face was in a book whenever. It was my escape from the world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02