Random Ramblings #4

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

To work or not to work, that is the question...

that has been at the back of my mind for quite some time now. 

I had got job offer from two companies, one in my hometown and another in Bangalore. 

But, I did the one thing that normally people don't consider doing, i.e., I rejected both the offers. 

There were two choices I had at both the time when I got the offers:

1. When I got the offer of working in Bangalore, I had my All India Ride coming up in 2017 and had I joined the job, I wouldn't have got the chance to ride all over India ever again. It was a life changing experience that I exchanged for a secure job and I don't regret my decision at all. 

India feels like a small country now that I've traveled all around on my bike! 


2. When I returned from the All India trip, I got a call from the second company that had earlier rejected me on the basis of over-qualification. I had done way many technical projects during my college days and this job was about sales and marketing and they were looking for somebody who wasn't too technical. 

However, they called me and asked if I wanted to join because they had a vacancy. But, then Steemfest 2 was on my cards, so I decided to choose Steemfest over the second job. It would give me an opportunity to meet and make friends with people all over the world. 

Secondly, the exposure I would get would be really worth it. This was the first time I would be traveling abroad on my own without taking one of those package tour thingy. So, we would have to figure out all on our own and it would be fun.

One gets to learn a lot from stupid mistakes they commit along the journey and that was mine and @varunpinto's case last year. But those are the things that will stay in the memory forever, something we can call adventure. For instance, I had Zero Euros mid-trip with 7 days remaining and my card wasn't even working at any ATMs.

So, it was a lesson learned. I have already applied and got a World Credit Card for this year's set of International trips after learning from last year's trip that I can't count on Debit cards even if the banker says that it'll work abroad. 

Coming back to the topic, the question on my mind now is if I should join a company and start working a regular 9-5. I know I don't want to but passion takes a lot of time to bring you money. Again, joining a job takes away all the freedom IMO. What are you opinions on this?

That's about it for today's rambling. 

On another note, I'm working on Steemfest 2 video, so stay tuned!

Good day! :)

#WandererOnWheels

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17