Five Minute Freewrite: Dolls

in #freewrite6 years ago

Find the prompt here!

Dolls

That's what I'd call that picture. Just dolls. Cute dolls, even. They look like they have little injuries to their legs and are waiting in the doll hospital. Or maybe the sale rack at the store. They just need a home, need some love. I don't get creeped out by dolls. I love porcelain dolls. I have a porcelain doll collection. Let's see if I can remember all their names. The first one I got, as far as I can remember, is named Jennifer. I have an older sister named Jennifer, but I don't think I named the doll. I think she came with the name. She looks vaguely Asian and has an adorable gap between her front teeth. Then I got Jo-Ann. Or was it just Jo? Jo was a little older than Jennifer, so she helped take care of Jennifer. Jo is blonde and responsible looking. I don't remember the order in which I got the rest, but there's Joy, Mandy, one that is a nurse (Florence, probably, how typical), and maybe one named Felicity. I'd need to pull them out to remember for sure. Joy is a music-making doll, which I always loved about her. I love wind-up music boxes, too. Mandy was named after the main character of a book series I loved when I was forming my porcelain doll collection, because I thought she looked like her. Felicity, if that is her name, has curly brunette hair. And Florence is dressed like a nurse.

PS At least one of my dolls came from a store called The Flat Iron in Sultan, WA. Just a detail I remembered.

Sort:  

Nice details. I like learning facts about you.

Posted using Partiko Android

I have only on porcelain doll. She is very old and hurt her head a little :)

At last, some happy doll memories! Most people seem to be creeped out by them.
It’s the Wednesday prompt delivery service here with the challenge for today: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-362-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-run-for-your-life

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Beautiful memories, and great you have a collection. Uncle Bruni came by to see what you did with this picture. Can't wait for today's creation. 👏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87