Things are not as they seem

in #freewrite6 years ago

We, as people tend to believe what our eyes see, but it is not always true. Today, I was out to watch the final day procession of Dusshera here and what I experienced truly shocked me. While we were watching the tiger dance, I saw two young girls begging on the streets. They would ask anyone for food and would stare at my kids when they were eating things like corn and flitters.
IMG_20181020_233914.jpg
My mom cannot see such sights and she instructed me to get same stuff for those two girls that my sons were eating. Well, I wouldn't obey her orders otherwise, but I knew that those girls were hungry. While I ordered the corn and flitters for them and waited for my orders to get ready, I saw those girls smile at me. My heart melted and I went straight away to another shop to buy some chocolates for them.

I gave them what I had purchased and was about to turn when the youngest of them caught my dress and pointed towards a small toy. Well, I never buy toys for my sons, they are more into outdoor games or make their own toys out of paper and kitchen utensils. I was about to say no, but my mom again instructed me to give them what they need. She stressed that they are asking for things which they cannot afford. I bought her that toy which costed me 50 bucks.

I must say, the money seemed way lesser for that 100 Watt smile that she gave me. She looked beautiful. She wished me 'bye' and I felt as if I had been of some importance to mankind today.

However, when we got into our car and drove across the street, my eyes were searching for the glimpse of that little girl. I wanted to see her happy face. I looked for her everywhere and then inspotted her minus the toy. She was holding another woman's dress and pointing towards the same shop from where I bought her that toy.

It took me a while to understand their business model. It seems like the dad owns a toy shop while his daughters get hold of young mother's as prospective clients. Why young mother's? Because they are susceptible. They can be easily manipulated because their hearts melt for young children easily. So, they make these young mother's buy toys for themout of pity. It is quite possible that their own kids ask for same toys, so they have to buy multiple toys. So, when these parents walk away, these young girls place their toys back in the shop. These young girls are like marketing executives who bring in prospective clients to the store.

That actually broke my heart. My dad hates people begging. He is of the idea that they should work and earn. He never entertains them. I always thought he was heartless, but now I understood why he believes so.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25