Day 333: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: visit - Entry @reonlouw

in #freewrite6 years ago

Source

This is my first attempt to respond to @mariannewest's Daily Freewrite Challenge. As with many new things I have tried on Steemit, I am here as a result of @fitinfun. I am a big fan of her blog and she writes in response to this challenge often.

Let's see how this goes! You can find the original prompt here.
Day 333: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: visit

Prompt: visit

  • Set your timer for 5 minutes
  • Start writing
  • Use the hashtag #freewrite and #freewritepoetry if it turns out to be poetry
  • Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)

It is part of my work to visit people at home. In Johannesburg, South Africa this happens mostly at night after people had an early supper. I have to make an appointment to make sure I am welcomed and that people have time to spend with me. In some parts of the country, you can just show up. There is always time to spend with a visitor. But in our rushed city life I can cause a crisis if I show up unannounced.

When we moved to the city, I was used to a more informal approach and had to get used to making appointments before showing up. In addition, the area where I now live has many gated communities. A guard receives you at the gate and calls the specific house you want to visit. The people then need to give permission to the guard to let me in. Shortly after moving here I made an appointment to visit people who lived in a gated community. The couple was facing marital problems and wanted help. But they got into a big fight just before I showed up and when the guard called them they denied me access. I understood this only later but they were not ready for me and had an out. However, in the moment, it felt terrible when I had to turn around.

Since that day, I often confirm an appointment an hour beforehand. Especially if I do not know the people or there is any uncertainty.

I enjoy spending time in people's homes. They feel safe there and will often open up more in that sense of security. Their interaction with one another is more natural and I gain insights into the stress in their relationships. At church or in my office they often wear masks.

I'm allergic to cats and sneeze for hours when I share a space with them. Cats seem to know this about me and find me irresistible. They all want to sit on my lap, even the ones who never do it with anyone else. If you want to keep my visit short, get a cat!

@reonlouw



Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

I'm so happy to see you here, @reonlouw!!!!

I recommended you on this post:

https://steemit.com/contest/@freewritehouse/week-24-win-a-membership-in-steem-basic-income-tell-us-about-a-favorite-freewrite

Please keep freewriting. It is a wonderful place to be. You will not regret this decision :)

Thank you @fitinfun. So appreciate you!

A very quick one @reonlouw...👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Good to know the cat side of things @reonlouw nice freewrite and good luck with the contest.

#steemitbloggers

Super interesting about gated communities in South Africa. Coming from Australia this is something that is immensely foreign to me.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.3$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

You’ve been featured in our weekly curation post Freewrite Favorites at @freewritehouse. Thank you for participating and raising the bar with awesome, creative freewrites! Freewrite On!

freewriteFavorites-300px.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80