5 Minute Freewrite (Friday) hosted by @mariannewest - Entry @reonlouw

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Source

This is my entry for the Daily Freewrite Challenge hosted by @mariannewest. You can find the prompt here. Anyone can enter. If I can do this, you can too!

Prompt: sour

  • Set your timer for 5 minutes
  • Start writing
  • Use the hashtag #freewrite and #freewritepoetry if it turns out to be poetry
  • Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)

I avoid anything that tastes sour. I'm just not a fan and prefer savoury tastes (steak) and a little sweet. Sweet-and-sour needs to be more sweet than sour. My life would be undiminished if I never tasted something sour again.

My kids love sour sweets. The concept does not make any sense to me. They, however, will go to any length to get sour sweets. There is one hard candy that you suck. It is to hard to chew and you basically work your way through layers. Each layer has a distinctive taste. They suckered me into putting one in my mouth. The first layer was sweet and I enjoyed it somewhat but not enough for my mind not to wonder. The next moment this intense sour taste hit me. The muscles in my jaw cramped and my eyes were streaming. I wanted to spit it out immediately but I was told that they had a bet with a friend who was doing the same thing with his dad. I had to literally suck it up for the title of 'Bravest Dad'. I did and I am. It was terrible. Even painful and I have no idea why anyone would do this to themselves intentionally.

I used to suffer quite a bit from heartburn. Mostly because I ate quite a bit of bread. A natural remedy that helped me was lemon juice. I would dilute it with a lot of water and drink the juice of one lemon in the morning before eating or drinking anything else. This solved my heartburn problem better than any medicine at the pharmacy. It is amazing that something so sour can neutralise excess acid. Try it and let me know what you think.

@reonlouw




Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

I love sweets....awsome article. keep it up god bless you friend reonlouw.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.32$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23