Tips To Trigger Memory

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

image


Tips to Trigger Memory


When I first saw the prompt rote I had no idea what it meant or how to pronoun the word. After reading about the meaning on google I realized we learned so much by rote, from saying ‘dada’ And ‘mama’ to memorizing the alphabet and multiplication in primary school.

I use a little rote to remember how many days in each month.

30 days has September, April, June and November
All the rest have 31, except February alone.
Coming once in four.
February then has one day more.”

Lately I’ve been using rote to remember a woman’s name. I can never remember if her name is Elaine or Eileen. In order to remember I think of an old one liner.

”What do you call a woman with one leg?

Answer:

”Eileen (pronounced I lean)”.

It may sound insensitive but that’s how I use rote to remember the woman’s name.

To try to remember other names I have forgotten, I go through the alphabet, one letter at a time, to see if it will trigger anything. Sad to say it doesn’t always work!

image

My five-minute freewrite using the prompt rote.

Photo is of my cat, Red. He’s giving me the look that says,

Slave, you forgot to open the window blinds this morning.”

Check out @mariannewest’s post Here for more info on #freewrite.




Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!!
Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

62F72AF3-8CAF-49AA-A057-B5D75ABB7E69.png



art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics



#thealliance


image

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Great shot of red to start a very nice free write. And we both learned a new word today, rote. I had never heard of this word before, ok English is not my native language so i see some unknown words sometimes.

Thanks @tijntje. Red is quite a character. 😊 You do well with English not being your first language.

I think we all learned a new word "rote" and I like your examples. I love rhymes and they sure do help you to remember things. : )

Resident cat here, thinking of rhymes as I deliver today's new prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-579-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-perfect-nanny

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Thanks and for delivering the prompt @whatisnew. 😊

Always a pleasure! : )

Congratulations @redheadpei! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 8000 comments. Your next target is to reach 8500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Nice shot with freewrite in life.

We certainly do much by rote - but actually a good way to learn 👍

Posted using Partiko iOS

haha! howdy redheadpei! this is a great one about that rote word, I had to look it up too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36