Freewrite: Stalagmites And Stalactites

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

89882038-151D-4CEE-BBA7-19300C21E462.jpeg
source


Stalagmites And Stalactites



When I saw the freewrite prompt was stalagmite , I knew I would have to look that word up. I have seen pictures of inside of caves and must have seen the word before but it didn’t register in my vast brain computer. 😊

I don’t like caves. Going underground into a dark cave does not appeal to me. Not only does it seem unnatural but there could be bats, snakes and heaven knows what else in there. I’ve already told Hubby I wanted to be cremated and my ashes thrown to the wind or over the water...just don’t put my body in a hole in the ground.

I have a better feeling of death when I know the person is cremated rather than a lifeless body waiting to decay in a coffin placed six feet under. It seems the soul has been freed to return to the source. We could debate forever on what exactly that source is!

Death and the hereafter has always been an important subject to me. I have lost many close family member.

Death has been on my mind recently because too many people have been passing that I have known since high school. When our peers start going it makes one think of our own life and how fragile and fleeing it is.

While I was looking up the two big words in my title. I saw stala-g-mite meant the column was growing from the floor of the cave upwards. Stala-c-tites are forming from the ceiling downwards. The water dripping from the stalactites forms the stalagmite on the floor of the cave. Sometimes the -c- and -g- ites join and form one large column.

The -c- gives the clue to ceiling and -g- the reminder it’s ground upwards.


Here’s a pretty limestone stalagmite.


B0BB156B-EC6D-4FF5-8317-ACB861F71605.jpeg
source



Another one that made a face.


609C870C-1826-4443-9ED5-769D9AA29E09.jpeg
source



If you are interested in freewriting, check out @mariannewest’s post Here for more info.

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!!
Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

62F72AF3-8CAF-49AA-A057-B5D75ABB7E69.png



#thealliance




PHC-Footer-05.gif


64E124ED-E71A-4088-9788-0E836FBC0236.jpeg

Sort:  

Love them pics of the stalactites and stalagmites.

I really like to go spelunking in caves, although I haven't been under the earth since last year :)

Thanks @raj808. I’m glad you loved the -c- and -g- ites. 😊. I saw a tv program on glowworms in a New Zealand cave that looked interesting but not for me to see. 😂 Of course I’m a long way from N.Z.

That last stalagmite with the face was pretty awesome!

Thanks @wwwiebe! The forms they make can be quite interesting.

Another natural face formation! lol.Wonderful photos redheadpei. I agree that caves are totally not natural. I remember being on a tour and they turned the lights off to demonstrate how dark it was, wow! That was the blackest of black.

I like the first one the second one that looks like a face kinda looks a bit creepy. We traveled last week and we missed to visit a cave because it was a bit out of the way. This must have been a cool experience for you.

Yes the face does look creepy. I guess it doesn’t like living in a cave. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94