Sort:  

Thank you so much for the mention and I am glad you enjoyed the piece I wrote. I fairly certain I have you to thank for the @curie curation as well and I am truly grateful. It is good for the soul to get a pat on the back now and then to keep one motivated.

Your freewrite piece is exquisite. I loved the imagery produced when we let our minds free to roam the ether and jot down our cliff notes. It is almost as if we pierce our carotid with a quill and let it flow to all who care to know what makes us who we are.

The river flows through this dirty old town, brown with rotten leaves of yesterday's autumns.

This line in particular seized my soul and spoke to me on a deep level. It is one of those lines that make other authors jealous they did not birth it to the world. That Jack has a way of making us reach deep, deep down and letting it flow.

Thank you again for the exposure and appreciation!

No worries on the mention @papacrusher, I don't usually tag people into my posts like this but there was no way of explaining the freewrite and my creative process without mentioning the steemit inspiration behind it. I think that lots of people probably get inspiration like this daily from other steemians and just take it for granted.

Curie wasn't my doing, this time, I am a curator but someone else submitted you before I could lol. I tried and got the 'this post has already been submitted' message, I was glad when I saw that and kept my fingers crossed that the reviewers accepted it ;-) The pat on the back effect that curie provide is really an essential thing on steemit. I think that some quality writers might give up without it and I'm proud to be part of the mechanism encouraging them to stay.

It is awesome that you picked out this line:

The river flows through this dirty old town, brown with rotten leaves of yesterday's autumns.

As that terminology 'dirty old town' refers twofold, to a song from a band I really like, and a fiction series I wrote on steemit 6 months ago which is still unfinished. It has reminded me that I need to put a lid on that particularly grim tale and finally finish the last episode. A tale left at the 89th minute like this lingers in the psyche I think and I need to open the windows and let the breeze blow it away.

Sometimes the universe knows what we need to do and possibly by tapping into a stream of consciousness the line came out as a gentle nudge to complete the work so you can be free of it.

What's the song and band, if you don't mind me asking?

The band - 'The Pogues'

The song is one I used to play on guitar at folk sessions in a pub in my hometown - 'Dirty old Town'.

It's one of those Irish songs that encapsulate the working class Northern ideom for me. It could be northern England or ireland but the lyrics sing out of warm embraces to ward away the chill of rainy industrial winters. It's a beautifully nostalgic tune for me:

:-)

Now that is powerful, real music. I used to visit an Irish pub near my hometown that featured two guys with acoustic guitars. They were amazing and occasionally they would have a friend come by with a set of bagpipes!

Fascinating poetry. My favorite line:

Nine times out of ten I look at the world in metaphor, it helps me make sense of the senseless and grasp the sublime from the mundane.

@ironshield

Glad you enjoyed the prose/poetry @ironshield. That line you highlighted really does encapsulate the way I think and well...... it would be a boring world if we all thought the same way. Thanks for reading

Congratulations @raj808! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Final results coming soon

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @raj808! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Nice backstory on the inspiration for this. Thanks for sharing. As an engineer-type I appreciate "under-the-hood" views of the creative process.

Proud member of #steemitbloggers @steemitbloggers

Glad you enjoyed it @toddrjohnson. It is great when you know something you have written has given someone a view of a process that is different to their own. I appreciate your meaningful comment and checking out my blog :-)

#steemitbloggers forever

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72