5 Minute Free Write: Cherry

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

5 Minute Free Write ~ Today's Theme: Cherry

Cherries always remind me of a pet scrub jay that our family got to pet-sit for my mom’s friend when I was a kid. My mom’s friend adopted him because he had an injured wing, and couldn’t fly, so she kept him as a pet. His name was “Peeps”, and all he ate was mealy worms & cherries. We would have to cut the cherries in half, remove the pit, and then cut it into small pieces for him. He was so cute! I loved it when we got to pet-sit “Peeps”. What great memories!    We now have a young cherry tree – it’s not very big yet. I think there are less than 50 cherries on it right now, that aren’t quite big enough to pick yet. We’ll see if we get to them before the locals birds find them…  

Here's a photo of a scrub jay with a peanut: 

(image found via the Creative Commons photo search)

Sort:  

So cute! I'm excited to see how your whisper post turns out.

It's coming along really well - I painted all day!! Hoping to be done tomorrow - we'll see. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94