You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I’m not a content creator - A late night freewrite

in #freewrite4 years ago

I have one idea, well one idea and one complaint. I'll start with the complaint - it's too complicated for a newbie! It has taken me well over a year of working almost very single day to learn the necessary skills. Now I am not only a great content creator, I'm expected to be a great proofreader, great editor, great photographer (working on it), great lay out artist (working on it), great self-promoter (working on it), great community member (working on it), great curator (always been good at that - I love supporting other artists!).

Here's a conversation I had with someone who was somewhat impressed that a recent brilliant story of mine had earned nearly 10 STU

"Well, that's not dollars, that's STU. I don't earn that much. Hang on and let me calculate how much actually ends up in my wallet. First, I halve that $10 to $5. The upvoters get the other half - I'll explain that in a second. Then I multiply by the value of SBD to USD and get 3.5. Then I divide by the value of STEEM to USD and get 24.14. So I earn 24.14 steem on that post. Which does happen to be around $3.50. Today. But that fluctuates with the value of both STEEM and SBD. Yeah, that's a very high paying post for me that took around seven hours to write, proofread, edit, format, provide an image that I took myself, edit the image so it pops, layout, publish, and promote it wherever and however I could. Of course you won't make that much as a beginner, I've been doing this for well over a year now so I know the ropes. But it's worth it!"

I didn't have a chance to get to the upvote curve, delegation, resource credits, tokens, front ends, tips, minnowhood, whales, curators etc before this person said "no thanks"

I do not know why I stayed, except that I managed to meet some fantastic fellow writers and am officially addicted to writing. Until I joined steem I could be heard saying "I can't write."

Which brings me to my idea:

Make it more simple. One has to be a math-minded tech-savvy gambler to make it in this place. It only appeals to an elite class.

Thanks for letting me get all of that off my chest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05