Mav's Cafe: A five minute freewrite

in #freewrite5 years ago

I feel like I haven't been here in ages. I think it's true. I've been wrapped up in some real world projects for weeks now, but I finally got a little break! So I'm here with a freewrite.

If you want to give freewriting a try, check out @mariannewest who posts the prompts each day.

Screenshot 2019-05-17 at 11.30.11 PM.png

I got off the bus and took a deep breath. It smelled bad like a mix of exhaust, garbage, sewage and fast food. Somehow though, it filled me with a sense of freedom.

After seventeen hours on a bus with screaming babies with full diapers, old men snoring and two pairs of women who never stopped talking, I arrived in Gotham City.

Here is where I’d finally make my dreams come true. What that meant was a little rough around the edges but I knew where I had to start. I looked at my phone for the address then checked the bus route to get me to Saven, the place to be if you wanted to be part of the art community.

A few hours later, and at least two wrong bus choices, I ended up at Mav’s Cafe. I’d read that all the best artists frequented the place, and I wanted to see if it was true. But I couldn’t wait. When the waitress brought my coffee I asked, “Is it true the best artists in Gotham come here?”

She just stared at me blankly before rolling her eyes and walking away. Dumbstruck, I just watched her go.

“Don’t let her bother you,” a voice said from behind me. “She’s snobbier than any artist that comes here. It takes a long time for her to warm up to newbies.”

He was a few years older than I but devilishly handsome with his disheveled hair and deep blue eyes. Not the sort of men we had back home. It took all my courage to answer him.

“Was my question that obvious?”

He chuckled, “Yes, but that’s not what gave you away.”

“What was it then?”

“You said Gotham.”

I felt it was my turn to roll my eyes. “That’s where we are isn’t it?”

He leaned toward me, his eyes fixated on mine. “No, it isn’t. It’s pronounced Got-ham by the locals, never Gotham.”


I have to admit I took a little over ten minutes to do this. When I started, I knew where I wanted to end so I had to work my way there. I based this off a true story. Would you like to hear it?

Shortly after the TV show Gotham came out, my son saw the title on the screen (he was too young to watch and he hadn’t been given the appropriate superhero Marvel vs. DC superhero education yet). So he asked, “What’s Got-Ham?” or something to that effect. Since that day I can’t ever see or hear Gotham without thinking got-ham. Today’s prompt gave me the chance to infect everyone else with the same disease. Perhaps you’ll be immune...

I also wanted to write it this way because there is a city called Berlin in our state. In your head you just read Ber-lin. But that’s a city in Germany. Here it’s pronounced Berl-in. See the difference? It’s an immediate giveaway that you aren’t from anywhere around here if you pronounce it the German way.

So I had a desired end for this as soon as I read the prompt but the rest was all freewrite.

Freewritehouse

beta reg banner.png


enter image description here

Join the Freewrite fun today! Visit @Freewritehouse


Proud to be part of the


enter image description here

Please the Bananafish god by entering the Finish the Story Contest


SM

Photo by Nick Hillier on Unsplash
All images are mine or licensed from Adobe except where noted. Freewritehouse, and the Bananafish Tribe used with permission from their owners

Sort:  

Burrl-in? Or barrel-in?

Burrl-in is the closest! Emphasis on the burl.

Local pronunciations can really tell where a person is from. Eh? 😊

But do you have green Ham? 🤣 Love it and shows that kids minds are free of the boxes we find ourselves in. Great to see you!! How is school?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ulala, Io much love the interpretation of your Gotham City.

Am here with the weekends freewrite prompt.

If you want to mingle
Use this prompt that is single
With a pen, write. Not with spindle.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-5-18-2019-single-prompt-option
...
For the pro, join this one
24hrs before i close this prompt
Be inspired, write with all you've got.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-5-18-2019-part-1-the-first-sentence
...
Do have a nice weekend and don't forget to check on the @freewritehouse.
...
Do have a wonderful weekend and Happy Sunday in advance.

Hi, @ntowl!

You just got a 1.13% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @ntowl! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 1000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @ntowl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.919 which ranks you at #11089 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 48 places in the last three days (old rank 11137).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 154 contributions, your post is ranked at #77.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97