Door poetry? Ah, no. A freewrite.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite5 years ago

Screenshot 2018-12-12 at 11.14.30 PM.png

I felt a bit uninspired by today's prompt. Actually, it may not be the prompt, but our front door that let me down. But I wanted to do the freewrite so I gave myself the challenge of writing a poem instead of my usual fictional dump of words.

Did I say challenge? I should say extreme challenge. Poetry isn't my thing, but that will become immediately clear when you see my freewrite! It did do one thing though. It made me realize it is we who are letting the door down and not it that's uninspiring. It's a very strange outcome.

Letting light in

It stands there silent
unused, yet decorated
brick stairs, showing their age
leading to unwelcoming locks

Squares of light high, so high
let unseen sun filter to the hall
but darkness wins as it remains
almost always closed

Passing it by each evening
not a thought given in its direction
It longs for the rare summer days
when it can let the air and the light in

But fear of exposure means it will wait
wait for years between these relished
moments of attention. One day though,
it will know joy.

enter image description here


enter image description here

Join the Freewrite fun today! Visit @Freewritehouse


Proud to be part of the


enter image description here

Please the Bananafish god by entering the Finish the Story Contest

All images are mine or licensed from Adobe except where noted. Freewritehouse, and the Bananafish Tribe used with permission from their owners

Sort:  

Congratulations @ntowl! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 300 replies. Your next target is to reach 400 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28