A Student's Struggle - Freewrite Day 587 Entry & SBI Giveaway - Prompt: Nunchucks

in #freewrite5 years ago

The man picked up the nunchucks from their hanger with a heavy sigh. Another day of hard training with these would leave him covered in bruises, and his sensei would taunt him as he dodged, flowing like water around his strikes.

As he walked into the dojo’s main floor, he noticed that his sensei was nowhere to be found. Sensing something was off, he raised the nunchucks to a ready position, and started to search around. He heard a creek off in the distance, and spun rapidly to face that direction. Nothing. Hmm. It was too quiet in here.

There! Another creek from a different part of the room. This time, as he spun, he heard a faint whistling noise. To his surprise and chagrin, there was a hard wooden stick flying through the air straight towards his chest. Acting purely on instinct, he twirled the nunchucks and smacked the bolt from the air. The hearty crack it made was satisfying on a primal level.

Keeping the nunchucks constantly moving, he started to slowly swivel around the room, his ears and eyes on high alert for the next assault. For he knew this was just the latest iteration of his sensei’s training.

Then, with no warning, sticks started flying at him from everywhere. On all sides he had to defend. His nunchucks became a blurring web of wood around him as he spun and dodged, smacking sticks from the air left and right. After an interminable time, the volley finally stopped.

He collapsed to the ground, his heaving chest and thundering heart the only sounds. Without even a whisper, he felt a light touch on his shoulder. It was his sensei, with a smile on his face. He had passed the test.


Greetings my fellow Earth citizens :)

This was a fun one. Nunchucks have always been an intriguing weapon to me. When I was younger, I had a foam pair, and always had a blast twirling it around. The skill some people, like Bruce Lee, could use them with is incredible. I don’t think I’ll ever have the time or really the desire to learn how to use them proficiently, but as far as weapons go they have a certain grace to them that I definitely respect.

Here is an informative diagram for nunchucks.

[Source](By Anton 17 - Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0, Link)

I am having my FreeWrite’s be an SBI giveaway. This is a way to reward my fellow FreeWriter’s, and hopefully motivate me to do daily freewrite’s again. No promises on that, but I am going to make an attempt.

What you need to do to enter is simply comment on this post with a link to your freewrite. I will then assign you a number, and when I write the next post, I will pick using a random number generator. There’s no need to resteem or upvote, though it would be helpful to allow me to do this contest for longer.

I am also hosting another contest if you would like to enter that as well. Everyone is welcome :)

Looking Back/ Looking Forward SBI Contest

Until next time,

Aloha


Here are the results from the previous giveaway:

@owasco: Entry #1 - https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@owasco/chapter-a-freewrite

@wonderwop: Entry #2 - https://steemit.com/freewrite/@wonderwop/day-585-freewrite-monday-nest

I used Google’s Random Number Generator (if someone has a preferred method let me know) and got 1. So @owasco, you are the lucky winner and get 1 SBI.

Thank you all for your entries, I enjoyed reading them, and I look forward to your next one.


This is my response to the Freewrite prompt, a daily writing exercise that I am really enjoying doing. Thank you @mariannewest for hosting these.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-587-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-nunchucks

Prompt: “Nunchucks”


I am looking for a partner for the we-write contest if anyone is interested. You can find details here.

If you’re interested in writing with me, please send me a message on discord, my username is nmcdougal#1503, or on Telegram.


Part of being a member of the #ccc community is having this footer on my posts. If you'd like more information about what that is, check out @freedomshift, @team-ccc, or any of the links below.

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)

AND

the latest update <<< please click to read.



Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

https://steemit.com/busy/@fitinfun/freewrite-day-587-nunchucks

So glad to see this opportunity, @nmcdougal94. My freewrite is also about a school, but much different than yours :)

And I will be posting to your other contest next on my other account.

I am glad you're taking the time to enter :)

You are entry #2

Thank you, I look forward to seeing your post there :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you :) I hope I painted a realistic scene.

You are entry #1 :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you!
Nice entry for goodness sakes! Love your story. I did a little research about nunchucks but still had no idea how they were used as a weapon, and now I know.
I didn't write one today so no entry to your contest for me.
Looks like it's Uncle Bruni for the win!

Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

They're a very interesting weapon. It's a little terrifying how creative humans have been with weaponry throughout history.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nmcdougal from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Ha, I had a foam pair too and unfortunately a real pair which I stupidly occasionally tried flailing about with. Madness but great fun

Oh no haha I hope that wasn't too painful of an experience 😉

Lol, it was!!

Ah, well hopefully you at least got a funny story out of it :)

You got a 1.45% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @nmcdougal94! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 30 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27