Sort:  

It was just a child's eye view. I would have been about 6 or 7 when the librarian told me I had to have my father and not my mother sign my application because the father was head of the house. This was a bit of a problem as my older brother had only perfected my mother's signature and not my father's;)
After this, I began to notice how many more rules there were attached to being a woman. At school the nuns were subservient to the priests, woman were obliged to cover their heads in church, and in the many pubs around which my mother dragged me, women were allowed only in the Snug, a small room with a separate entrance from the street with comfortable, upholstered seats and a hatch through which the drink was served and upon which one knocked to summon the barman.

This was the late 1960s and things were a bit different.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59185.02
ETH 2522.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47