Five 5 Minute Freewrites: Finding Inspiration on Steemit

in #freewrite6 years ago

IMG_0499 2.jpg


Today I felt inspired to try something new. Now that I have a little bit more time on my hands, I'm setting a goal for myself to stay active on Steemit. I really want to stay motivated and get back into the habit of sharing and writing on steemit. I thought I'd try and find some type of writing prompt or contest in this community to drive my inspiration.

For the past 47 days @mariannewest has been inspiring her followers with a daily 5 minute freewriting prompt. She shares the outlook on the importance of exercising your writing skill daily, even if it's only for a few minutes. The rules are simple, set a timer for five minutes and write nonstop about the daily topic/prompt until the time is out.

Because I'm not too familiar with freewrites, I'm going to challenge myself to do @mariannewest's past five prompts including today's. I think taking 25 minutes out of my day to practice freewriting will help shake up my creativity and allow myself to exercise the skill to write without any hesitations.


To add my own little twist to it, with each freewrite I included a photo I've taken that helped inspire the writing piece.


DF9IyC3-1.jpg


These are the last five freewrite topics and the link to each one of Marianne's posts:


Day 43: camping

Day 44: single prompt choice (I chose black)

Day 45: the smell of a dumpster

Day 46: gullible

Day 47 (today): airplane

seperator transparent.png

CAMPING


P7210125.JPG


One of the most distinct memories of my childhood, was that lingering smell of the campfire on my clothes whenever my dad and I got back from a camping trip. It was a strong ashy smell mixed with Off bug spray that made me feel nostalgic towards those times. It was a smell that I came to find out most people didn't even like. Looking back, I'm grateful I was brought up in the years of early technology and minimal cell phone use. I don't think it would have been the same as it is now with the constant attachment to social media networks and the constant need to be connecting through our smart phones. The cool breeze blowing off the nearby rivers and the serene silence of the trees is unlike anything else when it's experienced distraction free. Bring me back to the jiffy pop days where I would layer on my dad's thrift store fleeces, enjoying the sweet sound of silence.


BLACK


1731806172.JPG


Black is the color my blurry vision begins to see as my eyelids weigh down heavy. Becoming unbearable to keep them open over my glossy pupils. My pillow filled with white feathers invites me to sink deeper into the dark abyss, almost as of whispering my name. My breaths become slow as it acquires a heavy rhythm that moves my chest wider with every inhale as of taking a deeper breath each time. Black is the color of the world I sink into as my mind forgets every encounter and every thought it processed today. Black is the color of comfort as every muscle in my body relaxes from the follicles in my hair to the heels of my feet. Then I turn numb as I fall into a deep slow sleep.


THE SMELL OF A DUMPSTER


IMG_2713.jpg


Oh horrid days, why the putrid smell of dumpsters be reminded to me today?
I was sinking deep into a dark day dream, only to be distracted with this atrocity it seems.
This picture here did you take a look? This trash is overfilled with white girls' starbucks.
The sight the smell, I think I'm in denial.. Did your parent forget to teach you how to recycle?


GULLIBLE


IMG_1976.JPG


Being vulnerable can be really emotionally risky, it's hard for most people to let down their walls and be in a vulnerable state. The thing with vulnerability, is it's a choice. One chooses to let them self be in that state. When someone is gullible though, it's the mixture of lack of intelligence or experiences, and vulnerability that makes it have a sort of negative connotation to it. No one likes to admit they are naive or inexperienced. To me, the word gullible is an adjective that I never want to read or hear myself being described as. I think it would be a scary feeling knowing that I'm more easily susceptible to be exploited, persuaded, or deceived than others. As we grow older, we learn that when your young and innocent it's okay to be gullible, but it's something everyone should grow out of.


AIRPLANE


IMG_0021.jpg


I absolutely love airplanes. Most things that the average person hates about flying, I don't mind at all. In January of this year I applied to be a Delta Flight Attendant. Three weeks later I got a very kind, sincere letter explaining the multitudes of thousands of applications they received, and the denial of my application to the next interview phase. They requested I try to apply again at the next application session, but I realized how under qualified my application might have looked next to someone elses. As a college student, I have a lot more room for work experiences and completed education on my resume. I will always have that dream tucked away in the back of my head of one day having a career in the sky.

seperator transparent.png
steemit-minnow-kisses-love-lauren-gif.gif

Sort:  

Who is that pretty girl in the first pic!? Oh wait, it's Lauren ;-P

Haha...that gif is awesome. So humble ;-)

I've had an almost identical pull back to steemit , I've been meaning to do the writing prompt for a while as well

You should really start doing 5 min freewrites with me! It's really a good way to keep up posting daily :)

it seems you come to each to each topic with a different approach. I guess there is no right way to do these. I will try one!

Black is my favorite of yours :-)

Thank you! I liked that one too :) I found it was kinda hard to think of something clever and execute it within 5 minutes

I enjoyed reading your writing prompts. They were all great personal insights into your world and experience.

This is actually such a very good idea! Certain way to keep one active and creative.

Thank you! I can't take credit of course. All of the prompts here were from @mariannewest's daily freewrite post :)

Wonderful! I love LOVE the freewrite challenges. Your camping memories brought back my own memories of camping with our kids when they were smaller.

And keep chasing your dreams. You never know what may come in the future :)

I want to team with you guys I like writing prompts?!

So glad you joined and you did all 5!! Well done!! Looking forward to your daily posts :)
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-48-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-describe-green

This post has received a 9.55 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @littlehelper.

Welcome to the 5 minute freewrite! Some lovely reminiscences in there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87