No Shirt, No Shoes, No Service

in #freewrite6 years ago

icecream.jpg

Dirty feet mean real living, walking the crab laden sands of Clatsop Spit, sinking into the tide lines, washing away the dyed green story of mowing my own lawns. My heels are rougher this year without nightly foot rubs of relationships past. To think I used to get angry when he was chasing me around the house with the Lubriderm bottle rather than wanting to talk! I guess in some way he’d figured out a way in which he could love my feet even if the words and solutions coming from my mouth were of clipped, foreign tongue? Forever fighting for legitimacy in a world of titled rungs.

“So, where do you stand?” I was often enough asked at dinner parties and art openings.

I painted my toes pink for the wedding, wore high wedges under my flowing, flowered dress, walked tall and smiling through the lush lawns of manicured party, making my thinness straight on these feet of mine, the same ones who’ve had trouble in dreams, with shoes that don’t fit on muddy mountain paths in which I shed the sandal’s that have become too small before walking on.

Real work and the shoes we wear, yes work in the societal factories of production require some special shoes, whether sensible, white nurses, steel-toed boots, no-slip bottoms or the tap, tap, tap of gaveled heels in government waxed-floored buildings.

I have owned and worn, leather, rubber, glass and plastics, laced, buckled, zippered, slip-on’s and booted—all sooner or later sole auctions.

I am barefoot now.

Sort:  

I like this a lot. I've had my share of shoe roles myself. A closet is full of moldering past lives. I'm reading this barefoot.

So happy you're reading barefoot :)

See me waiting in the big hall of a court, while the tap, tap, tap and the smell of the waxed parquet give me "respect" to where I am. You fire up all my senses and memories.

One day I had a long walk behind me, across the mud flats from one island to the next. Four hours through the mud and one or the other pril. In the end happy and exhausted. Then the boat trip back to the same island I had come from. But before my final destination, the campground, I quickly go to the bank to get some cash. But no cash machine far and wide. And then missing the last bus. I walk the long way. I have to take off my flip-flops, which are covered with sand and have rubbed my skin off. The ground is cold and stony and I almost cry because I can't walk anymore, the appearance becomes a gauntlet run. My outstretched thumb does not move anyone to stop. In the end I still arrive. My sleep is very welcome. And I think: If I were barefoot more often, then I would have corneas.

Yes, I am barefoot, too. Give me your hand.

And, thank you for your stories in return :) What an adventure in walking barefoot you had and I am happy to be barefoot with you on that path.

I am picturing you in glass slippers - next time you dance with the prince - take a selfie :)

Beautifully written, @kimberlylane! I truly enjoyed the metaphors and imagery of this. You are very talented! :)
I particularly like the last line.

And in case you want to write some more, here's the latest prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-327-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-describe-a-clock

Thank you, honeydue :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85