Chipped Messages, Nightly on the Tube

in #freewrite6 years ago

Let the chips fall where they may? Is that how the saying goes? I know I don’t want to write about corn-chips or how I now choose only the natural which during the eighties were considered junk: potatoes, grease and salt.

Then, I think perhaps this is another psychological excavation born of the way the TV entered our psyches as kids because CHiPs, for my age group, also means the California HighWays were patrolled by Poncherello and Jon Baker, white-teethed on their gunning happy cycles.

Even the Village People adopted a cop, placed him in their YMCA line-up, with a thick stache and a hairy chest--got to be, a macho, macho man!

But these weren’t guys drawing guns, or blowing things up, they were clean and gleaming, and happy to stop and help families with flats and little lost dogs. We tuned in once a week for our hour-adventure back in the day, when two shows in a row, seemed an excessive amount of time, to park ourselves, in one room.

Our longest consecutive viewing hours of two-full occurred on Saturday nights, with Captain Stubing aboard the Love Boat followed by Tattoo and the Boss, Mr. Roarke on Fantasy Island. A white-suited man who in some twisted way reminded all to be careful what they wished for.

You see, big fantasies most often go wrong, though the Boss somehow wrapped up each show in the same way, one in which viewers whose thoughts were filled with similar ideas, were by the end of the hour, thanking their lucky stars for their own bland lives. The cliff hanger at last commercial break was then Godly-handled in the last five, a quick flashing of the guests’ ostentatious fantasy in devilish, Kodak-cubed, blinding-white to blackout, and this viewing through the tube a safer alternative to some wild-eyed, pie-in-the-sky, gambling move, in which you lose,

ALL of your chips.

“Smiles everyone, smiles!”

Photo Credit: George Coletrain/unsplash

Sort:  

I wonder if that photo is from the same place where most my recent photos have been coming from (the Noah Purifoy Foundation in Joshua Tree)... looks like it.

Not mine, off of unsplash, but I thought that too when I saw it, so I would say, probably is.

I think I know exactly what art installation it is, actually. I have a photo of it from another angle that I was going to post sometime soon (whenever a post comes around where it seems appropriate).

Synchronistic! I really enjoy your writing and photos too and have friends who visit/live in Joshua Tree and really just ought to go down and check it out, as it seems a waking dream how the place keeps coming up.

It's one of my favorite places. When I lived in New York, I used to daydream about coming home and escaping to the desert on weekends and just sitting in the calm sunshine. That dream was one of the things that made me come home. I don't know what is it about the place that just makes me feel free. I'm not one to believe in the phrase "magical energy," but if I did, I'd say it has that. Southern California has historically been the epicenter of weird new religions (read: cults), which just endlessly fascinate me, and so many of them originated on communes out in the middle of Joshua Tree somewhere. People tend to go crazy out there, it seems. And I love wandering around the random antique marts and used bookstores. I also love how you can be driving around and all the sudden stumble on some random art installation with no context whatsoever. I love the small abandoned or semi-abandoned towns that fell into decay after their main streets were bypassed by bigger roadways, as sad as they are. If you have friends and a place to stay, I'd definitely recommend going down there and wandering around for a few days and seeing what you can find.

I grew up in a small, desert town, so am familiar with the brilliance and warmth, but my home most definitely wasn't the magical weird (wyrd/spiritual) you describe.
Where I live now, there is more art, but not to the edgy creativity you and others describe in Joshua Tree.
The friend I have, lives here part of the time, and there when here becomes to glum, she could, and would be considered crazy by many, but hey, maybe that'd add to the trip?
She likes to smoke a lot of pot and then starts saying paranoid things out of nowhere, but I let her paint a pic of me, reclined in the back of her airstream one time :)
No matter, I need to go down there with or without a place to crash--I'm being sucked into the vortex!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77