Day 14: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Apricot

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Apricot #freewrite

When I was a small child the neighborhood kids and I discovered a wild apricot tree growing in a ravine near a creek just below our bus stop.

For weeks, while the apricots were ripe all of the kids and I would jump off the school bus, hike down the ravine, climb the apricot tree and eat. They were delicious. This tree was quite large too. I don’t know how it went undiscovered for so long.

I also wonder where it came from. For years my brothers and sisters and I would throw out apricot and peach pits hoping to grow another one of these wonders. I don’t think it quite works that way though. ;-)

I’m loving this prompt for the wonderful and magical childhood memory it sparked.

I can see all of us kids climbing that bright green, giant tree and picking the delicious golden fruit.

photodune-3804092-apricot-trees-s.jpg

Sort:  

Ah, a rebel apricot tree. Fits in well at Steemit ;)

Fit in well with me too. Lol.

What a great memory!!! I can see you all sitting in the tree and eating Apricots until you tummies hurt :) Usually, they have a hard time just growing from a pit. From a whole fruit, they have a better chance....

That's the trick. ;-) Someone must have thrown one out.

You and your siblings loved the tree so much that you tried to grow one with the pits...love it! : )

I know. Lol. The minds of children. 😉

Yes! @arbitrarykitten had me watch his you tube tutorials on steemit before I joined.

good. he is a great community builder and his challenges are fun!!

I have been able to see that since joining. Seems like a good guy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63282.43
ETH 3083.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85