Magical Realism: Storytime with my daughter [Freewrite]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite5 years ago

Yes. It is quite late. But I'm still doing a freewrite. Why? Because its valentines day. And I want to share a love story with you.

My daughter is my greatest gift to the world. My wife sometimes looks at me as if my daughter can do nothing wrong in my eyes. It's not that. Not at all. It is always fun to see characteristics of yourself in your children and today I discovered another one. My 4-year-old has the same habit I had as a kid. Taking different songs and different stories, mixing them up and presenting the mixture with the confidence that such a thing really exists. It is something I'm thankful for my parents never tried to correct as it is one of the qualities I use to my advantage in personal and work life every day.

Of course, this behavior is also partially learned. I get to put my daughter to bed about 4 to 6 times a week (depending on my schedule). Of course, she tries to stay up as late as possible, but recently she has compromised. She's willing to go to bed if I tell stories. Occasionally, a book will appear on the bed, but when it is past bedtime, it will be limited to one story in the dark. Now, being a seasoned storyteller, my stories are always made up, based on recent events in our lives, things we've experienced personally mixed with fairytales, children's stories, jokes and everything that fits in line with the topic at hand. Those 5 to 20 minutes are what I consider magical realism. Sometimes the story is cut short as she has fallen asleep. Sometimes I fall asleep. Sometimes I get a request for a longer story when the story ends. And then, the magical realism continues.

------------------//----------------

This post is a #freewrite entry for the daily prompt 5 minute freewrite. More info: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-482-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-magical-realism

------------------//----------------

#lobi
@jeanlucsr

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Made up stories are the best kind. <3

Posted using Partiko Android

They definitely are ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

I love that. It is part of building their imagination, letting them make up things. Maybe some day down the line, she too will be a great story teller.

Thanks. Yes, I would love that. But of course, she'll decide 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

You are most welcome, and indeed she will. I miss those younger stages. Some tend to shake their head at our silliness when they hit a certain age.

Haha.. true. That's why I'm enjoying every second of it 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

What a beautiful way to be with your family!! You are raising another storyteller 😄

Doing my best and enjoying every second of it.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm here because you the the adoptee and what a nice post to see first. My first ambition was to be a writer at the age of 5 and this was encouraged most by my dad. I hope and know your daughter will have good memories of these times when she is almost 60 like me.

Glad to see you freewriting when you are new here @jeanlucsr. This is the best place ever.

How blessed is she to have the chance to listen to such wonderful stories. :)


Also, I am here to deliver the next prompt to you. Here it is, check it out! It is 'double time'.

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thanks! I think my double prompt is also up 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Really lovely, you're blessed☄

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83