5 Minute Freewrite Tuesday - Overslept -InterGalacticDeliveryBoi!

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

So I had seen this pop up from a few different people I follow in my feed and finally decided to pursue it today. I didn't have the time for serious story writing but 5 minutes? Eh, I got this.

Here is the link for anybody else seeing this that may be interested!

Thanks to @mariannewest for the great community it looks like she has been building and for providing the prompts and post. Also, thanks to the two or three of you in my feed that have been doing this and inspired me! Maybe @glenalbrethsen? Maybe @calluna or some of the other writing crew?

Here it is.....

intergalapgos.jpg

I made this!

InterGalacticDeliveryBoi!

"And there I was on the moon, Intergalactic. Hair tussled, bleary eyed, I didn't know if I could make it. This shipment was due at the freightport in minutes and if it didn't get there....well, I wasn't getting paid. I had overslept.

You see, she was all dollparts and circuitry. She swayed to the rhythm, a rhythm no human could detect, something pumped across the airwaves into their brainboards, something from mother. These bots were killing it. Killing the infrastructure, killing marriages. It was lucky a human that had never had their partner caught .
And don't get me started on the media perception, bot lover's all of 'em....

Anyway, I can see Sid now as my monocart pulls up to the tramway. He's pissed, pulse pounding, fist waving, pissed. I like Sid, you know he's real. He pays me, I pay the bills, I can keep to drinking and my umm............"

Well Time is Up!


That went way to fast! I was just getting into my stride!

Check this group out if you haven't and get writing! I had a blast!

Thanks again for your time and attention!

@jackofcrows


banner14.jpg



Sort:  

I liked where this is going. Personally I always cheat and keep writing if I feel like it. Some people also string them together into longer stories.

You were nominated as a favorite freewrite this week and featured in our Freewrite Favorites Post of the week!

Keep freewriting, you are doing amazing things!

FEATURED.png

Can’t wait to get back at it!

Sadly it is unlikely to be me, it is a while since I have given it a go (although I will today, thanks to you, so you are instead paying it on lol)

I heard your "I made this" in the voice It really made me feel like I was sitting down to something lol.

How you present it, as almost a conversational anecdote actually works with the tailed off ending. It makes the scifi concept this is built around seem a lot more believable, someone just casually remarking in passing about the effects on the places he delivers them to. I am intrigued as to what he was going to say though. Was he going to confess to his own bot, reference something entirely alien (given the humans reference), or could he have been conspiring/arguing against the bots existence, or reveal something totally different. I love a good open ending, and you manage to fit enough elements into this to allow for a whole range of entertaining speculation!

Unfortunately now that I have discovered the group I will be out of town and away from a PC until Saturday.......BUT I will return!

That's exactly what happens to me every time @jackofcrows. Time runs out just as things are getting good. Or in my case, on the way to getting good.

I liked the way the character speaks and the whole concept of what sounds like a love/hate relationship with bots. At the very least, the character seems infatuated even if he has doubts whether or not he should be. Great kind of conflict, I think.

I'm happy to be at least part of your inspiration here and hope to see more of the freewrites from you. Going to keep trying to get my fat stubby fingers to produce more, too. :)

Do you ever end up "continuing" your story the next day if you can work the prompt in? Or do you start out fresh brained every time?

I've been starting over each time, mainly because for the most part I've been providing what I consider the "twist ending." Such as they may be. The weekend freewrite that strings three phrases together is more conducive to it, I think, because you can know going in what the next prompt is going to be.

I think there are people who are doing it that way, though. I've been entertaining the idea, but I haven't really started something yet that I felt like continuing.

Well, you can be just like the rest of the unruly bunch. Just keep writing LOL

Okay... :)

Actually, I have been enjoying this. It's good to get the brain working for short periods of time. Not too much, mind you. :) I just need faster fingers. Mine aren't cooperating yet.

hahaha - I hear you. In the resources, there is that a link to this app that helps with typing speed. I too am trying to get faster - I am so slow it is not even funny...

That was fun!! And those bots!!! We have to watch out here on steemit - there are bots some are already in love with LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59159.44
ETH 2522.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47