Sort:  

No idea ha.. I didn't know that was a thing I guess... My first day I upvoted a lot of stuff I liked, followed a lot of people and resteemed a few posts... maybe not the best starting out strategy haha! warning complete n00b alert haha

I barely remember, but I think we had 10 votes a day when we started, so try your best to make posts and comments without upvoting. It is hard especially if you are coming from a site like FB where we would like every thing. :)

Ha yeah definitely requires a shift in mentality! Thanks for the useful information :)
Hart Floe
<3

We still have 10 votes a day if you want a full recovery within 24 hours :)

Well, 10 votes evenly spaced out. If you make them all at once, they'll take less than 24 hours to recover.

Nope, they take 24 hours :) if you go to steemworld.org it gives you a nice little clock that shows you how long it takes to recover. If you space them out, each vote has the highest value. Your 100% vote value goes down as your voting power goes down....

I think you understand, but you said nope... if you make them all at once, you'll use up less than 20% of your voting power. The first vote is worth 2%, but the next is 2% of your remaining voting power, so only 1.96%... and so on. Which means after 10 votes (if you made them all at once - within a negligible timeframe) you'd still have more than 80% voting power, which takes less than 24 hours to recharge...

This is what the article I wrote was about. There's a misunderstanding amongst many Steemians about how VP usage and recharging works.

I am going to do that tomorrow with my husband's account and see how much the time difference really is :) I would think now more than a few minutes - and I am not that detail oriented.
We shall see if it is really enough to deviate from the general advice of 24 hours...

It'll be at 85% if you make all the votes as quickly as possible (30 seconds total). That means it would take approximately 20 hours to recharge.

No, but he's saying he ran out of BANDWIDTH, not VP. I think it has to do with how much you're uploading, like if you put a lot of pictures on the blockchain probably?

I think it is a new thing. Basically, when we started, we all got a delegation to - I guess - give us some bandwidth. The, they took that away since now, there are many more accounts. It really doesn't make complete sense to me, but the less you have in your account, the less bandwidth you have and can post and vote and comment.
If you go to https://steemd.com/@ and add your name, it will show you how much bandwidth you have...

I remember it always being there as long as I've been on, but I never had any problems. But also, I never uploaded any pictures.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65364.69
ETH 2650.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86