You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Great Western" - Day 590: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: glass bottle

in #freewrite5 years ago

Beautiful reminiscence.
I think that anyone who has ever postponed an artistic endevour can relate to your writer's block. From my experience, some stories,like some love interests, just resist certain suitors, and then just give up to "the right one".
Has it ever happened to you that read a story or novel that you were supposed to have written, an idea that someone somehow "stole" from you?
The good thing is that, like with some movies, sometimes it takes decades for an idea to find its true shape and spirit. Sometimes something has to happen first so that the story can come to life.
If we keep the interest, then we'll be "in the right place at the right moment".

Sort:  

You are so wise - and so young (unless your photo is half a century out of date!). This: some stories,like some love interests, just resist certain suitors, and then just give up to "the right one". This belongs in one of the many How to Write Books out there. Thank you for that insight~
And yes:
Has it ever happened to you that read a story or novel that you were supposed to have written, an idea that someone somehow "stole" from you?
{I would say "beat me to it"} - which is why we don't have the luxury of waiting for the mood to strike, the Muse to dictate, the opportunity to arise. Got an idea? WRITE IT. I'm not sure how soon it'll be fit to publish, but that's what online writing workshops and editors are for.
Thank you again-- for reading and especially for commenting!

You are welcome. Thank you for your inspiring work.
I am 46, but the last 3 years have takenn a toll on me. I must have lost some 20 pounds and got some 20,000 white hairs :)
So, I feel like half a century older now :)

You're only one decade younger than me - I never would have guessed! Either your photo is a lie, or you look a lot younger than 46. :) Where is this white hair? How did you lose the 20 pounds??

I meant now I am 40 pounds thinner and 20,000 white hairs older. That profile picture belongs to the-best-time-of-my-life age, when I was a 160-pound grad student in Normal, Illinois (around 2007)

This sounds like a good line to put in a freewrite:
Now I am 40 pounds thinner and 20,000 white hairs older
You once lived in Illinois? Our son was in college in Iowa City in 2007. Not exactly "small world," I know, but you are acquainted with the Midwest. And I'm sure you're still in your best years now. Pluse - white hair is the hallmark of wisdom. :)

Hahaha. Yeah. That reminds me of a barber's comment.

Most barbers here (now that the old generation is either dead or out of business swallowed by the generational gap) are young, thug-looking kids; the kind of kid you don't expect to have a conversation with. Actually, unlike the old barbers, who were master storytellers and the best source of news and social commentary, these kids rarely talk to their customers. They talk among themselves (usually barbershops have 4 or more barbers in the same space), which makes you wonder how much attention they are actually paying to your haircut.

Anyways, this kid looks at my hair and enunciates: They say white hair means accumulated knowledge and wisdom. What does that make you? Einstein?

I am acquainted with the Midwest. I loved all those years we spent there. Lovely people, beautiful land (although some people told me they feel they're in the middle of nowhere). I was never treated so decently and with so much respect in my life.

Well, you have a short story there, or a scene in a story! This is a very steal-worthy commentary on barbers of old, barbers of the new millennium, the Midwest, and the wisdom of the ages. Or the 40-somethings. 🤣 I love it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59234.78
ETH 2525.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47