History in the Making ~ 5 minute Freewrite ~ Prompt: history

in #freewrite5 years ago


My eyes snapped back open as my head slipped off of my hand, again. I wiped the drool that had formed in the corner of my mouth, and stole a quick glance at Tom to my left. He smiled and pretended to nod off. My face burned. Man, he was gorgeous.

"Julia, would you please tell us what you consider Joseph Stalin's greatest motivation during World War II to be?" Mrs. Walter asked. She had been here so long that even my mother had had her for a history teacher.

My eyes jerked quickly to her face. She stared at me with her kind eyes, and cheerful smile.

"To kill Hitler?" I asked. It was the first thing I could think of.

"Well, I'm sure if we dove a bit deeper into that particular train of thought, I'm sure we would find some interesting things. So, for homework tonight, I would like you all to do just that. Write a one page essay on Stalin's feelings towards Hitler, and why he would or wouldn't have wanted Hitler dead."

Tom flicked a piece of paper onto my desk.

Wanna ditch next period?

My heart fluttered involuntarily. Before I had a chance to respond, another small wad landed in front of me.

Our chemistry is better than anything you'll learn here.

I almost choked. Tom's face almost lost all control. Our platonic relationship for the past four years had become painful for me, but he still seemed oblivious.

Meet you at our locker. I scribbled down quickly, and tossed it onto his desk.


Thanks for reading, friends! Hope you are having a splendid day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22