Curdled Milk ~ 5 minute freewrite ~ prompt: milk

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

There sat the mayonnaise on it’s shelf, next to the mustard, and front of the ketchup. Just in the order they liked to be. The Condiments were in the more steadfast groups of the refrigerator. Sometimes it took months until they were used up, but on occasion, before they were empty, their contents would ruin and they would be taken out. But either way, they had a high future waiting on them. An afterlife only few us knew. We called it Reesiekalling. Because of this, the Condiments often thought too highly of themselves.

On the opposite side, but not any less haughty, were the Fruits and Veggies. This was often because of their special placement in the drawers, and they wouldn’t stop talking about their travels. They claimed to have seen many country sides, and often complained they weren‘t clean enough due to their many showers at the store. However, their lives were short, easily forgotten, and the turn around was predictable.

Next came the Beverages, and that’s where I come in. I’m the Orange Juice.

A few weeks ago I had been picked by some lovely home owners, and I was placed in the freezer just in time, all while I was still inside my small cardboard container. I saw though, that the owners had also bought two gallons of Milk. Now the Milk is the real deal. The hard working class. These bottles were made out of glass, so when they were emptied they were sent back and refilled. They hardly ever got a break. But they were humble, and made for good company. After about a week I got an opportunity to meet some of the finest. It began when the youngest child took me out of the freezer, opened my can, shook me into a pitcher then added water. I had never felt more alive! They placed me next to the two Milks on the top shelf. The top shelf!

The first milk went slowly, which was nice. I heard many stories from all the homes it had been in, and I bet those Fruits and Veggies had nothing on that first gallon. Well, I didn’t think much of how long it was taking until one day the second Milk began to get a little anxious, saying it wasn’t feeling too well.

Finally, the last of the first Milk was finished off, and we had a lovely goodbye meeting. Well, by this point that second Milk was not doing well at all. It was scared, and kept muttering something I couldn’t quite understand. Then one morning, the oldest child, the one that looks full grown with baby whiskers, snatched it out of the fridge, ripped off the cap rather roughly (if I do say so myself), tipped it up to his mouth, and spit it back up all over the kitchen! Then he yelled the same thing the Milk had been muttering…CURDLED!


Thank you so much for reading! If you are interested in trying a freewrite, check out @mariannewest for the latest prompt!

Sort:  

Hahahahhahahhaahahhaahahhahahhaha.... OH MY!! This really cracked me up. I Love it!!!!!! I feel like screaming!!!!...

Haha I hope a good scream, amd not one of a flashback of a time when you drank curdled milk! Haha Thank you so much for reading my stories and commenting!!

Thank you for dropping this awesome stories

Thank you! I really love writing and jumping into a story and seeing where I pop out on the other side.

A milk-curdling scream!

I can't say I have ever read about refrigerator adventures before but I thoroughly enjoyed that! -A

Hahaha...this is the second time I've personified an object, and it's so much fun! I'm glad you liked it!

Lolz... Such refrigerator adventures indeed...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11