5 Minute Freewrite Challenge Day 336 Washcloths

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

freewrite washcloths fitinfun (1).jpg

My dad was a college educated, and very professional man. He liked everything to be well done and in its proper place. He was serious and driven, and worked hard.

He wore a formal business suit to work each day and had many of them that were rotated in and out of the dry cleaners. His white business shirts were sent out to be laundered and he had a hundred nice ties.

His shoes were shined and he used a beautiful shoehorn to put them on without ruining the fit. His socks were the expensive ones.

He had a quiet voice and no discernable accent. He was a successful middle American man.

EXCEPT:

Instead of saying the word washcloths, he said warshcloths. The “R” was in the word every time. He insisted this was the way to say it and you could not tell him anything different.

Before he was my dad, with such a respected way of behaving, he was a kid from the wrong side of the tracks who grew up poor, and had to fight for everything. He got away from there as soon as he could and never looked back.

I got my nomadic ways from my dad as he moved us from place to place on his way up the ladder. He only had that one wrong letter to let you know he didn’t come from here.

My post is for the #freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest. Freewrite is a great way to post on steemit when you do not think you have the time, or talent, or anything to say. I know you can do this too! Here is Marianne’s freewrite prompt post for today. Give it a try and surprise yourself.

Please visit me at Amazon

fitinfun tired of being overweight sharon french amazon.png

Sort:  

Missouri? that's where I always associate that "r" with.

Interesting - no, he was from Michigan. Maybe he knew someone from there as a youth.

My mom was from the same general area - did not say this, and had no idea why he did. She was the pretty girl from the right side of the tracks :)

I thought this freewrite would have something to do with war.. Haha. Turns out it has to do with pronunciation, lol.

waRshcloths.

SOURRRRR.... (why did I say that?)

Alright, I am delivering the next prompt to you, check it out! It is 'Sour'

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Hi, while reading your post I have remembered my grandfather, he sometimes speak latín, but he said he was speaking english. Well he was about ninety that days, thanks for making me remember. Greetings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23