5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: potbellied

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

pig.jpg

Misery

Misery. The name rolled off my tongue like a perfectly rehearsed speech. I knew in a moment what we would call her, our potbellied pig. The name taken strait out of one of my favorite books -Misery by Stephen King.

Misery loved to root around our farm. She visited the cow out in the pasture. She check on the other pigs in their pen. She even found a few friends in our goats salt and Pepper. (one white and the other black)When she completed her rounds, she always found comfort close to our artesian well were the mud was always fresh and cool.

The details of her are beginning to fade from my memory, the exact way she looked or if her belly actually rubbed on the ground or just hovered inches away. But this story remains sharp and clear. And her name- How can I ever forget our black pudgy potbellied pig names Misery?

Sort:  

Would be difficult to forget! Fantastic when prompt aligns with a fabulous memory and to be potbellied might be pretty miserable :)

these prompts, and writing in general, have open a slue of memories for me. she seems happy most days but who knows, I hope she was happy at least, she was well feed at least

I'm sure she was!
Like you, this freewriting brings up many memories.

She did, that was twenty years ago at least. Still she had a good life rooting around the farm.

nods it sucks to outlive ones non human kids :(

It does... won't even get into our cats :-( but the memories keep me happy

Glad you have fond memories of Misery.

So many great memories of living on the farm... I kind of miss that

What a funny name for a pig - yours seemed to have had a happy pig life :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17