Freewrite "The Shimmer" - Ski Part 4 - Simgirl Saves the Day

in #freewrite7 years ago

2003-Peugeot-Hoggar-Concept-FA-Sunset-1024x768.jpg
.
.

This is part 4 of the "Shimmer" story started by @snook, here are the links to the previous entries.
Part 1: Shimmer
Part 2: my notes
Part 3: Poooof!
.
.
Okay, I'm out on a lake in my boat and I don't have any keys or wallet, now what am I going to do? Ah ha, there is my cell phone on top of the drink cooler, now who to call? No answer from @f3nix so I started working my way down the contact list leaving messages, @Mariannewest was out of the Country on tour again as usual. Then I had an idea, I skipped over to @simgirl and she answered right away, but I could hardly hear her for all the wind noise. She switched over to Bluetooth and I told her what was going on. No problem she said, hang on a second and I'll get right back to you. A few seconds later she called back, okay she said, I have your GPS location and I'm looking at you on an NSA satellite feed, just hang tight and I'll be there in a jiffy she said, and I heard the whine of an engine as she disconnected.

How does she do that I thought, GPS locations remotely? Satellite feeds? That's jazzy! I worked my way over to the boat landing so that I could get off of the lake and meet her on shore. It seemed like I had just tied off the boat to the pier when I saw Simgirl racing toward me in her 2003 Peugeot Hoggar. Coming to a skidding stop just feet away, out she popped with my spare keys dangling from her fingertips. She went all the way to my house, retrieved my spare keys, and made it to the lake before I hardly had time to get in and tie the boat off? That's hot I don't care what anyone says! She stretched one hand out to give me the keys, and with the other hand she pulled off her Bvlgari Parentesi Sunglasses so that I could see her smiling inquisitive eyes. What have you got yourself into this time she said, just like I'm always the one in trouble and needing to be rescued. Wasn't it her that called me from Spain after getting tossed onto the back of a raging bull? Isn't she the one that got separated from the speedboat while paragliding and needed rescuing at sea? But she was really relishing the fact that I was the one in trouble this time.

Zombies I said, I accidentally landed in a nest of dead Zombies in South Africa that some guy named Tim had slaughtered, while I was trying to figure out what was going on @snook showed up in a full ski suit! At that @simgirl threw up her hand, I've heard enough she said laughing and heading back to her car, I'll wait to hear this story from Snook to find out what really happened. And with that, she was gone leaving a cloud of dust and the sound of a high-performance engine speed shifting and accelerating out of earshot.

After loading the boat on the trailer I headed home wondering what might have happened to Snook after I was warped back to my boat by the strange shimmer. I hoped that she was okay, I'm sure she was as long as she had enough cigarettes with her. Only a couple of miles from home I saw two figures walking down the side of the road smoking cigarettes, one was limping badly, the other looked strangely familiar so I slowed and rolled the window down. The one that was limping threw up its hand as if to hitchhike, but it didn't have a thumb! When I got up beside them I saw Snook and...a Zombie without much of a face. Get in the truck I told Snook, if that Zombie is coming with us it'll have to ride in the back I said. That nasty looking thing is not riding on my seats I added. Snook gave me one of her looks, she was tired and obviously very frustrated by the events of the day, and I don't think she was all that happy to see me. Putting her hand on the Zombie's shoulder Snook said, I'm sorry Bea, you'll have to get in the back of the truck. With the Zombie loaded and Snook buckled in we headed home, Snook was just staring out the window without speaking. Yep, she was not happy with me, women, what are we supposed to do with them. You would have thought that she would have at least said thanks for stopping, jeez.

.
.
.
**Disclaimer: I often use the freewrite prompt to tell a story instead of doing a pure freewrite, so they sometimes take longer than 5 minutes and usually have some editing. But I try to do my story straight through at one sitting without any unnecessary breaks.
.
.
Photo Credit: Peugeot

Old' Steem by the wonderful @snook
Footer by the fabulous: @topkpop
.
.
Prompt: ski (Part 4 with @snook)

Set your timer for 5 minutes.
Start writing
Use the hashtag #freewrite
Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)
Copy and paste your URL into the comment section of the prompt post.
Or, if you don't want to publish your freewrite, just copy and paste as a comment under the prompt post.
If you don't know what a freewrite is, here is a link to the introduction post.

Introduction to freewrite

Thank you @mariannewest

topkpop

Sort:  

Tears from laughing AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thank YOU SO SO SO SO much, my friend!!! HUGS!

Ha ha ha, I'm glad you enjoyed it 😄

Oh and I think I just woke up my hubby from laughing so loud!!!

(you hear an engine rev and horn honk)
MEEP! MEEP!
(the window on the humvee rolls down to reveal a warm smiling face)
"Hello! I'm @shadow3scalpel and with the help of my protege, @chairborne, we are actively assisting veterans, retirees and active servicemen and women here on Steemit. We feel it is our 'duty' to support each other. Any questions or comments you may have, simply respond to this comment, thank you!"
(the window rolls up and the engine roars as it drives to the next person on the list)
Comment by @killerwhale. This is a opt-in bot.

Now that I have read it all in the right order, I am highly amused!! You guys are just having 'way too much fun with this! LOL Perhaps it will keep going?

I have certainly had a lot of fun with this story, we just kind of let things develop around here and see where they go. This was my second spontaneous "We Write" and if I live and the world holds together maybe I'll see an opportunity to do another. I just couldn't get @snook's story out of my mind so I just felt the need to write my own scene lol. Perhaps right now you have a scene that you feel the need to add in, if so there is a whole village of dead zombies waiting for you, or you can follow Snook, the Zombie and I and let us know what happened next lol. 😉

You just made my day!!! My fictional life is way more exciting!! And you made it sound like I knew what I was doing!!!! Thank you!!!

I'm so glad that you liked it, I was hesitant to write my perceived and slightly stylized image of you without your permission. 😎

Anytime you want to make me sound cool you have my permission :)

Ha, that's easy, you are cool! 🏄‍♀️

Thank you!

Hilarious and inspiring!

Thanks to @simgirl, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Awesome, thank you so much for the comment and the exposure, @simgirl & @sneakyninja rock! 🙂

You're welcome!

Good fun post! I think you enjoyed writing it :)

You're so right, this story was easy and fun for me and I was laughing all the way through. I needed a hero, and @simgirl seemed to fit that role very nicely. ha ha ha, I hope that she thinks so too when she finds out lol. 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59148.41
ETH 2526.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48