Prompt of the day “Hammer” - Use The Correct Tool For The Job!

in #freewrite5 years ago

Often times the biggest mistake someone will make when trying to accomplish something is using the wrong tool for the job at hand. So for myself right now I am trying to quit smoking and having the correct tools in my arsenal is going to make it happen the first time!

Sometimes the difference in tools is subtle but the effect that tool has can have a drastic effect on the outcome. Think about it this way when you’re doing the finishing construction work on a house you don’t go grab your sludge hammer to try lightly tap in the finishing nails. You wouldn’t want to go grab a regular hammer either because that’ll leave marks on the trim, no you need something like a rubber mallet or a very small ball peen hammer. Best case is to drop the hammer all together and go grab an air gun, you see where I’m going with this we have many options of tools.

My tool of choice for quitting smoking is using distractions and replacements for the habit as well as the addiction. When I feel like I just absolutely need to smoke I will slam a giant glass of freezing cold water maybe chew on some gum. When I start feeling absolutely anxious I will go out for another walk.

So far I am choosing to use @Actifit as my motivation for continuing walking even when I’m not feeling it anymore. I know I will at least get something out of it, it is a healthy activity and I am not just merely distracting myself but replacing the bad habit with a good one.

The next tool I need to think about is replacing the triggers with a good habit response. Usually when I have a coffee I really want to smoke so today I had my coffee on my walk and left my smoker at home, no possibility of a slip that way!

Check Out The @FreeWriteHouse Prompt Of The Day By @MarianneWest

New Too Partiko? Get A SP Bonus!!!

Start Using Partiko and Get 15 Steem Power Delegation

If you haven’t tried Partiko out yet and your struggling with RC limitations check that post above it will help you greatly 👍 or just check it out anyways and support them in supporting newbies!

I love the Partiko Mobile App for two simple reasons, function and appeal. It works as it should with speed and looks great while adding its own level of gamification to interaction through in-app points collection plus redemptions for perks.

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!!!

Thats it @d00k13 OUT

Join Us #OneLoveDtube Discord Server

Join The #OneLoveDTube Curation Trail, Earn Rewards!

46903C31-E7B4-48EB-9602-FAB49290FE62.gif

Check Out Partiko Discord Server

Wallet of a Minnow, Heart of a Whale

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Sounds like you got this down!! what a good idea to take your coffee on your walk but not a smoking device. Wishing you all the best. The first days are the hardest...

I believe I do also 💪

So far it’s just a matter of finding the next distraction that isn’t linked to my habit 😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

My tool of choice for quitting smoking is using distractions and replacements for the habit as well as the addiction. When I feel like I just absolutely need to smoke I will slam a giant glass of freezing cold water maybe chew on some gum. When I start feeling absolutely anxious I will go out for another walk.

🖕Those are the right keys🔑

Using the right tools; please how do we get Steem popular like Bitcoin, which tool do we use?

https://twitter.com/brian_armstrong/status/1108611777980325888?s=21

🖕please help get Steem to Coinbase!

Coinbase Custody continues to add new assets as well, fairly quick turn around based on client interest. Let us know what you'd like to see next.
By Brian Armstrong

Posted using Partiko iOS

Definitely going to have to check that out!

Posted using Partiko iOS

done to Read your content. ☺😍

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome 😎 What was your take away?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.74% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Glad you enjoyed it my friend, thanks for stopping in and commenting!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Good idea on leaving the smoke behind. You will get there...


I know I am late but better than nothing. If you haven't checked out the next prompt, here it is ➡️ 'bark'.

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page to join more awesome contests at the
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62379.78
ETH 3034.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78