You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Shedding the Mask - Five Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

This is so powerful...trust really is the most valuable gift we can give one another. It can be so very painful to live without any kind of mask to protect us. Basically...I live in a constant state exposed nerves. Overcoming negative influences is made so much harder. On the other hand...no mask also creates a heightened state of authenticity and freedom...and one that I would never even consider trading in for the false sense of comfort those public and social masks provide. I believe the key to successfully revealing your true self and breaking through the prison without getting hurt along the way...is to find your tribe and that safe harbor.

The sad reality of being yourself and sometimes encountering people who only want to tear you down can be lessened because of that support system. I have never been able to put the next part into words...but you described it perfectly. For most of my life...I have always been seeking that rush of peace and calm that comes with the communion of souls. It seems that we can only shed our masks and keep putting ourselves out there in the hope that our exposed soul becomes the beacon for other kindred souls.

Sort:  

I am glad this spoke to you. I think you hit the intent squarely here:

. I believe the key to successfully revealing your true self and breaking through the prison without getting hurt along the way...is to find your tribe and that safe harbor.
Thank you for your thoughtful insight. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12