Weekend Freewrite 2/17/2018

in #freewrite7 years ago

Here's my Weekend Freewrite for 2/17/2018! Completely fictional (for the most part). Pictures are proudly all mine though! :) Enjoy!


Ugly Duckling

Weekend Freewrite 2/17/2018 - Prompt 1 - The First Sentence: My only defense was to write down every word they said.

My only defense was to write down every word they said. While I was growing up I wasn't what people would call, "popular" so I took to writing. I took the nasty, ugly things they said about me and I wrote them down. It was my way of coping, of getting through the ugly. That's the worst of it. If I had been more beautiful, more thin, more anything maybe then they would have accepted me. Maybe then I could fit into their mold, into their world and be a part of who they were. I wanted that so badly sometimes it hurt.

As time grew on I just accepted being the outcast, the writer, the one that was a loaner. I was the girl tucked in the corner for no one to see, I was that person. I was okay with that, or at least I let myself believe that. My writing said otherwise. That's when I let myself be, say, and do whatever I wanted. I would write story's, putting myself in them and make myself be something I'm wasn't, something I so desperately wanted to be but couldn't.

Because as they say, you can't fix ugly. That's at least what I was told growing up. How evil is that to tell a small child not only they were ugly but you couldn't do anything about it? I don't think I was ugly. Fat, sure, but ugly? Now that's just mean.

As time went on though, I grew into my nose, I got taller and grew into my breasts. Sure, I developed an eating disorder of sorts, but at least I was thinner right? That's what they wanted of me? To be thin? To be like them? Or is that what I wanted? I'm not sure anymore.


Weekend Freewrite 2/17/2018 - Prompt 2 - The Interference: Eloise was my half-sister, but everyone thought she was my cousin.

Eloise was my half-sister, but everyone thought she was my cousin. She just couldn't be my half sister, people would say, she looks nothing like me. Yes, this is true. Eloise was beautiful. Always has been. Its effortless for her. She could eat a piece of cake and it wouldn't matter. I touched the damn thing and it would go right to my thighs. Disgusting, that was me.

The first time it was really brought to my attention that people thought the same was when we went apple picking with our parents. This couple walked up to my parents who were holding hands while walking behind us. Eloise and I were choosing what tree we wanted to pick from. The couple smiled at my parent's, "You have a beautiful daughter." They said. I almost got my hopes up. I was closer distance to them so they must be talking about me. That was until they pointed to Eloise who was climbing the tree down a ways. "She could be a model" They said, and continued walking. Completely bypassing me. My parents thanked them of course. Didn't correct them that they had two daughters. No. They would be happy with one. Their beautiful Eloise.

You see I looked more like my dad, but he's not around anymore. It's not what you think. He passed when I was very young. Eloise dad came around not long after. My mom wasn't one for being alone.

Eloise was beautiful. She got every boy she ever wanted. I was never even close to dating. No guy gave me the time of day. No. It was always Eloise. I never even cared to try if she were around. She was automatically the one they saw. She had that way about her.


Weekend Freewrite 2/17/2018- Part 3 - The Dramatic Twist: The last time they saw a movie...

The last time they saw a movie it was when my parents took us. I never thought I'd be sitting here with a boy. As time went on I accepted who I was. I was and will forever be what God made me and I had to start accepting that. When I did it was no longer Eloise who was getting all the attention it was me.

Jacob had walked up to the both of us one day on campus. He smiled that gorgeous smile and I was a goner. I wanted him but Eloise was there, so I didn't think it was me he was after. I was still getting used to men noticing me. But he turned to me and asked if I'd seen the new movie that just came out. There had been several, of which he was speaking I didn't know but it didn't matter. I would have seen anything with him.

So here we are. Holding hands walking along the river. It's been a night I never thought possible but here I am, with a handsome man and I'm happy, seriously happy. I know from this point on my writing will be different. Oh, I will still continue writing what they say to me, but not because it's my only defense, but because I want to remember every moment, every word, every movement of this day. I don't want to ever forget how I was once the ugly duckling, but now am out from the shadow of my sister and become...Me.


Visit @mariannewest and join the #freewrite community!

Use the Prompt
Set your timer for 5 minutes
Start writing
Use the hashtag #freewrite
Publish your piece

Want more info? Visit the introductory page

Bleedinheart

Sort:  

LOVED THIS, TRUELY.

what I loved, in a sad way is that you knew the ending. <3 the beginning sux when it happens in real life, I know......but you are only that age once and it's what you learn along the way that makes you as beautiful as you are now. <3

So true! I believe that wholeheartedly! Your experiences also make you stronger. As long as you know you can get through anything that's given to you, you can become who you were meant to be!

Clap. clap. clap. That was fantastic, really moving. I'm so happy things worked out for Eloise's beautiful sister in the end.

Thank you! I am too! I wasnt sure where it would lead me but Im happy it went there :)

That's what I love about freewrite, it lets your imagination and sub conscience go off on a little ramble.. Yours was an excellent ramble :)

Haha, well thank you!!

This was a great write. The second part was introduced and written very well. The best lines were

Oh, I will still continue writing what they say to me, but not because it's my only defense, but because I want to remember every moment, every word, every movement of this day

This just deserved so many claps.

Also, strange coincidence. My male character in my freewrite is also named Jacob, and the other freewrite I read had a Jacques. LOL. This is freaky coincidental!

Thank you so much! I enjoyed that line too! Kinda just came out, wrapped it up nicely!

That is councidental!! I am going to check it out lol! Thats so funny how things like that work out!

Yeah, at times it's hard to wrap up in freewrites, but you did it so well and just at the right time.

Awe, thanks so much! And thank you for taking the time to read it!

What a beautiful job. I loved the progression to acceptance. You write so naturally. The photos are gorgeous, too!

Wow, thank you! That's a huge compliment! I'm glad you think so... And thank you for thinking my photos are gorgeous! It's from when my husband and I go for walks (in the summer of course haha) and the writing I just liked the look of it, seemed fitting :) Thanks again!

My pleasure. I really enjoyed your writing and the photos fit perfectly! <3

Your so sweet ♡♡

This is such a beautiful story! Shame on the parents!!! All children are lovely and should always be able to count on their family to want to scream their pride in them to the world. I love how the purpose of writing changed from a defense to a celebration of remembrance!!

Time for you Freewriters to pamper yourselves!

The massage snakes are ready.
A spider facial is laid out.
This next prompt sounds relaxing,
...unless you flail and shout!

Sunday Freewrite Day 122 - Spa

Thank you! I was surprised at where it took me but happy with the ending for sure! Haha, I love the way you deliver prompts!!

It's interesting that what "we" want as we grow up is convoluted in what we believe society's looking for. Here's to a happy ending!

So true. Thanks for reading!

What a beautiful story!! Growing into me... Love it.

Thanks!! I love where it went :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59234.78
ETH 2525.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47