Day 113: 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: ski

in #freewrite7 years ago

Here's my Day 113: 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: ski



Image Source

The wind bit into my skin as I tried my hardest to burrow deeper into my jacket. The straps of my skis are too tight and all I can think about is hot cocoa and the fire that awaits me. I didn't want to be here but I knew it made him happy and I knew he wanted so badly to share his passion of skiing with me.

"Don't you just love this?" He said looking down the hill. I looked and all I saw was cold. Cold and pain that waited me when I would undeniably fall.

I forced a smile beneath my layers, "Yes, it's beautiful." I say shivering.

"You can do this, you trust me right?” He asks, his beautiful blue eyes sparkling like the sun that’s trying to peek through the clouds that threaten more snow.

I nod unable to speak past my growing fear of landing in the fluffy death trap below me. He goes through a few instructions. I try to focus, I really do but I feel the fear bubbling at the pit of my stomach. Ending up with a broken arm or leg will certainly put a damper of my hot cocoa plans.

“So are you ready?” he asks pulling me out of my trance.

I shake my head, “I don’t think I can do this. I really want to try it, I really want to make you happy but…” I look toward the hill.

“It’s a bunny hill. You can do this.” He says. After a breath, he must see the worry on my face. He nods once. “Okay…” He says and relief fills me.

“Really?” I ask a grin finding my face.

He nods and wraps his arms around me from behind kissing the top of my head, “Forgive me baby.” He says. I look up at him and laugh. I’m about to ask why but then I realize I’m moving “You can do this baby!” He screams out to me as I plunge to my most certain death. I close my eyes and hope for the best. I feel my feet giving way to level ground and realize I’m at the bottom.

I did it.

He follows right behind me, catching up quicker than I expected. “Yes!” He screams wrapping me in my arms. He’ll get it for this. But for now… Hot cocoa.


Visit @mariannewest and join the #freewrite community!

Use the Prompt
Set your timer for 5 minutes
Start writing
Use the hashtag #freewrite
Publish your piece

Want more info? Visit the introductory page

Bleedinheart

Sort:  

Fear is a typical response when skiing! It's scary to be strapped to two thin wooden planks, with boots that are way too tight, propelling you to breakneck speeds!

Here is my response to today's prompt:


https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mkkenny13/dailyfreewritechallenge-day-113-ski


Let me know what you think =)

I thought you did a GREAT job! Keep it up!! And thanks for sharing and reading!

My favorite part was the phrase, "fluffy death trap".

HA! I didn't even see your comment :D it was mine too!!

Haha I'm glad you both liked that! It was mine too! LOL

fluffy death trap below me.

Loved that line!! and Love You!! <3

Haha, thanks! love you too!!!

Funny and sweet. Tackling that bunny hill like a champion! 🏂 Great story.

The Crazy Train to Freewriteville is leaving for the next prompt. Would you like a single pass or a multi pass? All aboard!

Weekend Freewrite 02/10/2018 - Single Prompt Option
And/Or
Weekend Freewrite 2/10/2018- Part 1 - The First Sentence

Thank you! and thank you for the prompts!!

Gonna be honest...was waiting for vampires :) Nothing better than hot cocoa after a day out on the hills. Especially with someone you care about.

Hahaha I can see where that could come from! And agreed, cocoa and your favorite person is the best!

That sounds just how I would react lol.
I applaud you for trying :) awesome freewrite!

My pleasure, dear.

I was waiting for a vampire bite!! Glad it was only a push to get you down the hill :)

Haha, everyone was! Thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59214.59
ETH 2524.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48