If the House Is the Body - a stream of consciousness poem for Freewrite # 186: house coat

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Greetings fellow Steemians! Here is my 45th 5 minute freewrite. The prompt is "house coat". Many thanks to @mariannewest for hosting this daily freewrite!
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-186-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-house-coat


https://pixabay.com/en/fire-matchstick-house-burning-matchstick-2086370/

If the House Is the Body


If the house is the body
And the house is on fire
And you want to rescue the children trapped inside
Then standing out here
Outside of yourself
In your housecoat and slippers
And no safe way in
And back out again
Means the children will die
unless
You leave the coat
And slippers
And pajamas
And even your glasses
Here on the cold gravel driveway
And let the flames
Lick
Your skin
As you cross the threshold.


©2018 Bennett Italia, all rights reserved.

horizontal rulers courtesy of @cryptosharon

IOW COLOR MAP.png

Sort:  

Amazing Post Here appreciate your efforts. upvoted and follow your,.

Thoughtful poem, the house is the body certainly, and above all things we must protect our inner child, the one who lives in that house, the one who helps us maintain the smile, the one who keeps us tender, it is very true message the inner child should never die so the house is on fire, surely if he leaves it will help us to put out the fire, greetings and that this very well

:) thank you @aplausos for your thoughtful response! I agree.

Brilliant metaphor, the urgency and slight edge of surrealism makes this so engaging! Accepting the emotional core is necessary for any hope of self-understanding, or even self-actualisation. Thanks for getting me into the freewrites by the way - I've enjoyed them a lot and hope to put out more in the future :)

Thank you @lazarus-wist! Grateful for the insightful reading, especially from one whose work I admire so much :D

Glad you're enjoying the freewrites, I really like them. Among other things, coming up with fresh work every day or so can be demanding and Marianne's prompts usually take me places I wouldn't have gone on my own...

Yeah, it's crazy how energised I feel when a prompt hits me in just the right way, and I end up writing loads when I thought I was tapped out for the day :) Thanks for those kind words - keep writing and I'll keep reading 'em!

I love the representation of words.

This is very intense. I read it several times and it just really makes me think. We have so many struggles in life, it is imperative that we keep our inner children safe!

Thank you @eroticabian! It made me think too, as it was unfolding itself to me... took quite a few rewrites to find the right words ;)

as it was unfolding itself to me

I love this. I love it when my mind and my writing seem to just unfold in front of me and make me think!

Right? Such an amazing process <3 <3 <3

very good poem!!!

Thanks for sharing it with us all!

Thank you @snook! So glad you enjoyed it :D

My husband just came home from a class he is taken and they went to a young author reading. He complained about the poetry and how he hates it an all.
I told him that I have a good poem for him and read him yours.

He liked it!! :)

Now, you can add to your many achievements that you can turn a poetry hater into a poetry appreciator 👍

Oohh that is a good story I love that! Thanks for telling me @mariannewest <3

Oh excellent, especially considering it was a free write! No way to save the inners without strippin' nekked on the outers... to rephrase in Hillbillyese... ;)

Lmao yes, well said! Thank you @fishyculture <3

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Jesus, this is beautiful - I really, really love it, especially this:

And you want to rescue the children trapped inside

There is so much imagery in this single line, it's just amazing. Thank you, I really enjoyed reading your poem! Keep this excellent work up <3

Anyway, I'm in charge of delivering the next prompt (which I really hope you'll do), so there ya go:

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-187-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-nail

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thank you @honeydue! I'm so glad you loved it. It means a lot coming from you :)

And thanks for the prompt delivery! I did write one, albeit belatedly ;D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63706.21
ETH 3073.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76