Day 272: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: blues

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

DF9IyC3.jpg

The car was motionless. And so was everybody else. It was a sunny Sunday afternoon. Traffic wasn't supposed to be bad.

No one was talking. Just silently staring outside the window.

It was boring, lifeless, and not fun. It was as it showed me the life without music. The life without blues.

I took out my phone. Fiddled my finger through the screen to find in my music app mine and my dad's own blues. He's 68. I'm 36. Along with us were kids 8 and 4.

Bye, bye Miss American Pie
Drove my Chevy to the levee but the levee was dry
Them good ole boys were drinking whiskey and rye
Singin' this'll be the day that I die
This'll be the day that I die

The most surprising part was not that my dad and I started singing happily but, that of when my 8 year old boy started singing too. 8 year old. Not a lot of kids his age get this kind of blues.

This is my response to @mariannewest's Freewrite challenge.

Thanks for reading!

Love,
Jonah

***📷 Credits to @mariannewest

Sort:  

Hi @beatenegg, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I found out that @marrianewest doesn't exist on Steem. Maybe you made a typo ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36