So You Never Miss a Moment | Freewrite ~ Flash Fiction

in #freewrite6 years ago

saffu-221040-unsplash.jpg

"And then what happened?"

"Then, the waves that once glinted began to still, eerily so. The water itself began to move inward, on itself, as if something from the deep were sucking down the surface. In a flash, a most glorious cacophony of creatures erupted from the sea! Water spouted from the top of their heads, echoing song erupted through the solitude, ringing out for miles. They crashed, slapped the surface of the ocean, and one-by-one, dispersed and descended until no trace of their dance remained."

The sun smiled, looking out over a rice field dotted with the smallest creatures pulling leaves from the muck.

"It has been many, many days - I have lost count, since I saw such a spectacle," replied the sun with a grateful sigh.

"But you see so many a spectacle, my friend!" said the moon, gazing across the ocean expanse in the direction of the sun, though not quite able to meet their gaze.

"Yes, this is true. Sometimes I envy you, Moon. You join me in your cycle and see the wonders of daylight, and still you govern the darkness, existing in both worlds without reproach. Though I am the ruler of the day, warmer of the world and giver of life, you have so much more to see and experience than I do. In all my gratitude, I am stuck."

The moon sighed, having had this conversation eons over again. But, they would never tire of gently reminding the sun, for they were forever entwined, a match made truly in heaven, and had only each other to rely on.

"This is true, my Sun. It is why you have me, who will never leave you, to share with you the wondrous tales of the night, my storytelling growing ever-greater as we travel through endless existence together. I am here for you, so you never miss a moment, no matter where you are in the sky."

FREEWRITE-banner.jpg


Prompt: Light

Another fabulous freewrite prompt from @mariannewest + @freewritehouse, one of my favorite writing communities on the blockchain! These exercises demand that I stretch my creativity, edit something I can be proud of, and share unabashedly.

The freewrite process takes me between 20 - 25 minutes total:

  • 2 - 3 min spent deliberating on what I'll write about based on the topic (typically a few words make up my concept).
  • 5 minutes writing (sometimes a minute over).
  • 5 - 6 minutes editing for spelling errors, run-on sentences, incorrect word usage, and punctuation. I use Grammarly for writing + editing on Steemit.
  • 2 - 3 minutes finding a photo like the header above on Unsplash.
  • 3 - 5 minutes formatting my post with a final proofread before publishing.

Until next time... 💙




Asset 2-230.png

Hi, I'm Amelia! It's nice to meet you.

I'm a writer, minimalist, tiny home dweller, and maker living in East Tennessee, USA. You might have found me through the Ladies of Steemit curation initiative, showcasing the female voices on the Steemit platform. Let's hang out on the blockchain and see where it takes us.


DQmV67cvPjjfDk5bwtcAVMkQPhf8dxSJPk3BGKSqCBxR8KA.png

Proud member of

LadiesOfSteemit-01.jpg

thealliance_banner.png

promo-mentors

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

teamgirlpowa.jpg

ameliabartlett_red.png
banner by @bearone

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Sort:  

Wonderful image of the Sunset!

nice prompt and great writing for the prompt!

That was lovely. The sun and moon as mother and son is a nice image that I never thought of before.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Congratulations @ameliabartlett! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ameliabartlett! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77