Shadow Work

in #freedom6 years ago

Something still gnaws at me that my last writing, The Monster in Your Own Heart, did not satisfy.

I come here to do my own "shadow work" - to look into the Tengu's mirror and see my true nature. Why here? Because writing is my best tool for thinking, and Steemit provides a special opportunity: the chance to get questions and responses from people who have no expectations about what I "should" think.

Beyond Difference of Opinion

Here, people are uniquely interested in the ideas transmitted, rather than the identity of the person. People value community, and communities here are diverse. So, while on mainstream social media I have long since given up hope of having a meaningful exchange, here on Steemit I am less willing to let it drop when I encounter an imperfectly expressed idea.

Sometimes on this blockchain I read ideas which I'd really like to challenge, but don't. Maybe they aren't looking for further discussion, or challenging the point would detract from their main idea. Or I'll gently offer a counterpoint, but find the other party is looking through a different lens and cannot see my point at all - without going all the way down to find some shared foundational belief, it would be hard to get beyond the surface difference of opinion.

My three-week dive into shadow work began with two ideas that at first glance are easily dismissed as simple difference of opinion. Only we really can't differ in these things, if we are to do something more worthwhile than share emojis, fun stories, and pretty pictures.

When I read either of the following, I tend to think you haven't thought it all the way through. If you have thought it through and you still believe it, I'm not really sure where that leaves us. The first:

«Freedom of Speech is a Nice Ideal, Not Realistic in Modern Life»


Millions of people are not thinking this one through. Maybe because their societies or laws are discouraging them from speaking the truth. I used to think it might be ok to differ in opinion on this. I no longer think so.

Please listen to Dr. Jordan Peterson explain:

Now, the second:

«Negative Perceptions and Intentions Are External to Me»


There are several variations of this, including focusing only on the positive while not letting the negative "in," framing good and evil as purely a matter of perspective, or blaming evils in the world on something external: capitalism, patriarchy, the media, bidbots.

I have entertained each of these notions at least once. In particular, the idea that good and evil are a matter of perspective (implying that they aren't real). I'll grant that there are many perspectives, and many ways to respond to what we experience. However, there is no world in which my shit does not stink. Pain and death are always painful, and deadly. These things are not good. Nor are they evil, however to cause pain and death is evil. And yes, many things in life are a bit of both.

To ask you to understand this fully may be asking too much, but I do ask you to try. Those who do not try to understand their shadow are, at best, limited when it comes to doing real work that matters. At worst, they can be dangerous - prone to letting their dark side take over in times of need.

Don't believe me, ask this Zen guy:

Or Dr. Peterson again:

I reference this guy a lot. His ability to integrate objective science with what is meaningful, and ground it in everyday life is refreshing, and something I strive to do myself.

Shadow Work Is Vulnerable


Despite what I said about Steemit being a place for open and honest discourse, I worried how this next piece would be received. If you truly understand the implications of the ideas presented above - that freedom of speech including sometimes sounding like an asshole when you speak is necessary, and that examining and integrating the darkest parts of your psyche is vital- then I hope you enjoy this recent live-steamed analysis of Pink Floyd's The Wall.

All The Way Down


I wonder, did you listen to any of the linked videos? Do you and I have some shared foundational beliefs? I'd like to know. Feel free to challenge me on these points, even. I'd rather discuss something real, than resign myself to sharing emojis, pretty pictures, and inspirational quotes.

Oh, but Inspirobot is awesome, if that's what you're looking for.

Sort:  

Great post!
I m on the last video now and I gotta say pretty cool so far especially after the first three. Peterson is great. It's good to see him in these settings rather than arguing with some liberal. The Zen Master was pretty great, you could tell the underlying thoughts he had of the absurdity of it all.

Peace <3

Thank you, and thanks for the resteem! I'm so glad you appreciated the videos. It seems like so many people aren't seeing the wisdom of someone like Peterson, but probably many are like me and just nervous about saying so in public with the social media outrage machine in effect.
I like Owen Benjamin (the last video) - he is talented and insightful, and stands up for what he believes. However I was very hesitant to share, cause he will say exactly what he knows people think he should not say. Often it's comedy genius, but he can come across as a jerk too. Maybe I'm just too delicate to handle that much confrontation.
I don't usually post videos at all, but check out this one - it's awesome. https://steemit.com/freedom/@wholeself-in/zombies-magic-words-and-the-neverending-story

I don't like confrontation either, but I'm turning 48 in a few days. At this age I just don't care anymore LoL. Honestly though, that thing Jordan was talking about I believe in the last video of him you posted, the one where he talks about facing the big existential crisis. I have faced that off more than once since 2013. It makes you understand totally what he means by the need to believe in something greater than ourselves whether it is there or not. I know quite a few people who are into the things Dr. Peterson says. I like how Owen said whatever came to mind as well. The way he talked about a black guy stealing from him when he was younger and it made him at least a little racist. If everyone was so honest.

I'll check out that post as soon as I get my kids off to school

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00